About Us: Collection Development

The Trout Library at Harcum College is dedicated to enriching the academic experience for our students, faculty, and staff through a comprehensive and diverse collection of resources. Our Collection Development Policy serves as a strategic framework to ensure that our library remains a vibrant center of knowledge and research excellence.

Our approach to collection development is dynamic and continuous, reflecting our commitment to meeting the evolving needs of our academic community. We regularly assess our collection to maintain its relevance, incorporating new materials while removing outdated ones through systematic weeding.

Central to our mission is inclusivity and accessibility. We prioritize materials based on their relevance, scholarly significance, credibility of authors or publishers, and availability to our community.

We welcome and value your input in enhancing our collection. If you have suggestions or recommendations for materials to add, please email library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.

The College Archives Collection at Harcum College is a comprehensive repository of historical materials that offer insights into our institution's rich history. This collection encompasses a wide range of items, including photographs, ephemera, publications, handbooks, audiovisual materials, and yearbooks.

Our College Archives Collection plays a vital role in preserving and providing access to our institutional memory. It documents significant activities, personnel, policies, and events that have contributed to the development of Harcum College over time.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and accessibility of these materials through careful curation, preservation practices, and digitization efforts. Whether you're a student conducting research, a staff member seeking historical context, or an alum reconnecting with past experiences, you are welcome to explore and utilize the resources within the College Archives Collection.

For further information about the College Archives Collection, please email library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.