About Us: Library Policies

Harcum College provides the PaperCut print management system. At the start of each semester, students receive a 250-page allocation for academic use.

Adding Funds to Your PaperCut Account:

1. Sign in to Harcum Hatch.
2. Go to the Quicklinks tab and select Add Funds for Printing.
3. Follow the prompts to add funds via credit or debit card.

Helpful Links:

• How to Print with PaperCut
• How to Add Funds to Your PaperCut Account

For assistance, contact library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.

Borrowing Privileges

Harcum College students, faculty, and staff can borrow books and DVDs using their Harcum ID.

• Books: 3 weeks, up to 2 renewals (unless requested by another user).
• DVDs: 7 days, no renewal.

To request a book renewal, email library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.

Course Reserves Collection

The Library’s Course Reserves includes textbooks and materials recommended by your instructors. To borrow an item, present your Harcum ID at the Circulation Desk.

• Borrow one item at a time for up to 2 hours.
• Items must stay in the library while in use.
• If no other students need the item, you may request a renewal at the Circulation Desk.

These materials are for short-term, on-site use to support your coursework.

Journals

The Library provides academic journals for in-library use only. Current volumes are displayed by program and title on the slatwall.

For older issues of journal titles, ask library staff for assistance.

For questions, email library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.

Trout Library offers ILL for current students, faculty, and staff to borrow books and access electronic articles not in the library's collection.

How to Use ILL:

1. Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request form for each item.
2. Allow approximately one week for processing.
3. Textbooks are not available through ILL; check the Campus Store’s Follett website for textbooks.

For questions, contact library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.

To maintain a productive and respectful environment, please follow these guidelines:

• Respect Noise Levels: Adhere to posted noise level signs to support focused study areas.
• Silent or Vibrate Mode: Keep your phone on silent or vibrate to minimize disruptions.
• Headphones for Audio: Use headphones for music or videos, keeping the volume low to avoid disturbing others.
• Respectful Behavior: Engage in courteous behavior and language; avoid loud conversations or actions that may disturb fellow library users.

To maintain a clean and productive environment, please follow these rules:

• Snacks & Drinks: Allowed in the Strauss Family Rotunda and second-floor group study areas. Use covered containers and sealed snacks to prevent spills.
• Dispose of trash in designated bins.
• Report spills or issues to Library staff immediately.
• No food or drinks in computer areas or Technology Labs to protect equipment.
• If ordering food, please enjoy it outside the library.

Trout Library Collection

The Charles H. Trout Library is committed to providing Harcum College students, faculty, and staff with a diverse, comprehensive, and up-to-date collection of resources that supports academic and research pursuits. Guided by our Collection Development Policy, we ensure that the materials we acquire align with the educational objectives and values of our community.

We prioritize a broad range of perspectives and voices, fostering an inclusive and supportive environment for learning. The collection is carefully curated to reflect the needs of all users, with a focus on ensuring resources are available in accessible formats that cater to diverse learning styles.

We regularly assess and update the collection to maintain its relevance and accuracy, ensuring it meets both the academic needs of the institution and the accreditation standards of various programs. We value and encourage input from our users and invite suggestions for new materials or resources to enhance the collection.

For recommendations or inquiries, please contact us at library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085.

College Archives Collection

The College Archives Collection at Harcum College preserves significant historical materials that offer insight into the institution's history. The collection includes photographs, documents, publications, audiovisual materials, and yearbooks, all of which document the people, events, and decisions that have shaped Harcum College.

These Archives are essential for understanding the college's legacy, and we are committed to preserving and digitizing these materials to ensure they remain accessible for future use.

Students, staff, and alumni are encouraged to explore the Archives for research, historical context, or personal interest.

For more information, please contact Roxanne Sutton at library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6022.