Trout Library Blog

Whether you want to find articles about the midterm elections coming up next week or would like to find quality news sources to enhance your research papers, we encourage everyone to make use of our NewsBank database.

NewsBank includes full-text articles from more than 8,000 news publications originating in nearly 200 countries worldwide. Publications include major national and international newspapers as well as local and regional titles. NewsBank contains a few peer-reviewed sources, but news is its primary focus. Find a link to NewsBank and its subdivisions in our A-Z Databases list. Because NewsBank is a subscription database available only to Harcum students and staff, to access the database from off campus you will need to retrieve the username and password found in the Library Database Password List under Quicklinks in Harcum Hatch.

When you enter NewsBank, you can do a general search by typing your search terms into the box that appears. (For an advanced search that will allow you to type in multiple key terms and use limiters, click on "More Search Options.") On the results page, you can apply limiters such as date, geography, and type of publication. Most of the articles in NewsBank come from general newspapers, but you will also find some from newswires, newsletters, college/university newspapers, blogs, and other sources. NewsBank gives you the option to print, save, download or email full-text news articles as well as to create a link. It also has a citation feature that will provide you with the article citation in various formats, including APA, MLA and ASA. (Remember that citations provided in databases can be flawed. If you use the citation feature in NewsBank or any other database, always check the accuracy of the citation using the print manuals, which are on reserve in the Library, the Cite Sources guide on our website, or Purdue OWL.)

NewsBank has a number of special features that can help make your search easier. Beneath the search box on the database's initial page, you will find a series of boxes containing Suggested Topics -- including Business and Economics, Criminal Justice, Education, Environment Studies, Health, Political Science, Science, Social Issues, Sports, and more. Within each category, you will find a large number of selections. Clicking on a selection will produce a search for you on that topic. An option under Political Science is 2022 Midterm Elections.

On the right-hand side of the page, you will find a link to Hot Topics, which NewsBank updates monthly to provide you with pre-prepared searches on a variety of current issues. The main categories are: Current Events, Business & Economics; Civics, Government & Politics; Social Issues; Science, Technology & Health; Sports, Arts & Literature, and People in the News. In November 2022, a featured item under Current Events is the Mid-Term Election Campaigns. Both the Suggested Topics and Hot Topics can provide you with topic ideas for your papers.

NewsBank also provides access to the Philadelphia Daily News and the Philadelphia Inquirer. Inquirer access goes back to 2018 for a full image of the paper and back to 1981 for text only.  A link to the Inquirer database from NewsBank is provided on our A-Z Databases page as well as in the list of blue buttons to the right of the Suggested Topics. Also among the blue buttons, find a list of Pennsylvania news sources to search, a list of prominent American news magazines, and a link to the Black Life in America database.

For a visual demonstration of how to search NewsBank, please consult our video tutorial. Always remember that if you have questions about this resource or any others, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may visit the Library during the hours posted on the Library's homepage, email us at library@harcum.edu, use our chat service, or call us at 610-526-6085.

With the pivotal 2022 midterm elections only three weeks away on Tuesday, November 8, I have created an Election 2022 Guide to provide you with all the information that you will need to cast your vote. A link to the guide can be found by clicking on Library Guides on the Library's homepage and then selecting the Special Topics tab:

The guide consists of three tabs. In the first tab, find links that will help you determine whether you are registered to vote, and if not, how to register; where to find your polling place for in-person voting, how to obtain a mail-in or absentee ballot, and where to find drop boxes for submission of mail-in and absentee ballots. You will also find links to specific voting information pertaining to college students in Pennsylvania and to first time voters in Pennsylvania. Below are some key items:

• College students may register at either their campus address or their home address.
• The deadline to register to vote in the 2022 election is Monday, October 24.
• Requests for mail-in or absentee ballots must be received by 5pm on Tuesday, November 1 -- but you should make the request as soon as possible if you are interested.
• Mail-in ballots must be returned no later than 8pm on Election Day, Tuesday, November 8, or they will not be counted.

The second tab in the guide lists the races on the ballot in Harcum's precinct. This is a ballot that you will see if you are voting from your campus address. Links will direct you to the Ballotpedia entry for each candidate. The two top races on the ballot are for U.S. Senator from Pennsylvania and Pennsylvania governor. In addition, you will be voting for U.S. House Representative in District 5 and for Pennsylvania State Assembly Representative in District 149.

The third tab lists U.S. House races that you will find around the region if you choose to vote from your home address along with links to House district information. To create a sample ballot for your precinct, a good site to use is Vote 411 from the League of Women Voters. When you enter the site, simply click "Find What's On Your Ballot" and enter your home address. You will then get a list of the races on your ballot. If you click on a race, you will see the candidates as well as some information about them, their positions, and links to their campaign website and social media. Vote 411 will also help you check your voter registration and find your polling place.

Remember that if you have questions about the Election Guide or any other resource, we are always here to help you. You may come to the Library in person, call us at 610-526-6085, email us at library@harcum.edu, or use our chat service on the Library's homepage when it is available.

Read books by Harcum Bears. Books by Harcum alums, faculty and staff are collected by the Charles H. Trout Library. See the full list.

Journey of Hope by Tracy Johnson

Call Number: Archives 616.8553 .J66 2021

ISBN: 9781736119891

Publication Date: 2020

Journey of Hope: An Everyday Guide for Adults with Dyslexia serves as a catalyst to help adults with dyslexia and offers invaluable tips and resources to promote educational success and emotional-social well-being. This book offers a refreshing addition to the topic of dyslexia due to its specific focus on adults with dyslexia. Dr. Johnson provides real-life experiences and proposes a blueprint to effectively manage and overcome obstacles associated with dyslexia. Readers will gain insight regarding various manifestations of emotional, academic, employment, and social challenges that might be encountered.

Loose Tooth by Stephanie E. Maisonet; illustrations by Urusa Jamil

Call Number: Archives 617.6 .M231 2020

ISBN: 9798649356473

Publication Date: 2020

Loose Tooth is a children's book that teaches children about the dentist office. This book helps children overcome fears of a dentist visit.

 

 

Pieces from my Heart: Poetry by Mary Ellen O'Neil

Call Number: Archives 811.6 .On58 2018

Publication Date: 2018

Pieces from my Heart is a collection of poetry of Mary Ellen O'Neill, a alumna of Harcum College. Mary Ellen O'Neil passed unexpectedly in 2015. Her sister, Susan O'Neill Nedd donated this collection of Mary Ellen's poetry.

 

 

 

What Killed Doctor K. ? by Barbara Kotler

Call Number: Stacks 813.6 .K87 2015

ISBN: 9780990887102

Publication Date: 2015

What Killed Doctor K. reflects an insider's candid observations of the medical world from the 60's through the 90's. This novel, based on real events, shows unflinchingly these years of major changes in the practice of medicine and the consequences for both patients and the medical professionals who serve them. Barbara Kotler is part of The Writers Colony of The Delray Center Of The Arts in Florida. She established "Writers On The Go" involving writers in community programs.

 

Alone Together: My Life with J. Paul Getty by Theodora Getty Gaston; Digby Diehl

Call Number: Stacks 332.092 .G256 2013

ISBN: 9780062219718

Publication Date: 2013

It was 1935. Flame-haired Teddy Lynch finished singing "Alone Together" at the swanky nightclub the New Yorker and left the stage to find a charming stranger at her friends' table. It was Jean Paul Getty, enigmatic oil tycoon and America's first billionaire. In her passionate, unflinchingly honest memoir of two outsize lives entwined, Theodora "Teddy" Getty Gaston reveals the glamorous yet painful story of her marriage to Getty. 

 

Have a book to share? Submit them to library@harcum.edu.

Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian  610-526-6022        rsutton@harcum.edu

How much do you know about Harcum College history? Did you know that Melville Hall was built in 1878 but it looked very different to how it appeared today? When Edith and Octavius Harcum first rented Melville Hall it was much smaller than it is now. The Harcums significantly expanded the building in 1917. Here is how it originally looked. Notice that the original bay window was kept and once could say, inspired the redesign. 

After the 1917 expansion, Melville Hall was almost three times larger. 

The newly expanded building included a gymnasium in the basement. The gymnasium had a basketball hoop. The gymnasium was covered sometime after 1960 when the new gymnasium in Klein Hall was constructed. 

You can read all about the history of the buildings standing and demolished on the Harcum College Bryn Mawr Campus in the online exhibit The Harcum Mile.

For students who are in the Allied Health programs at Harcum, PubMed is an excellent database to use when you need to search for peer-reviewed articles on a health topic. The database, which contains over 34 million citations from biomedical literature and a significant amount of full-text availability, is maintained by the United States National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. As it is a government database, PubMed is open to the general public and does not require a password for access. A link to PubMed can be found in our A-Z Databases list as well as under the Databases tab in the various health-related program and topic Library Guides.

When you enter PubMed, you are first brought to a simple search screen:

An Advanced search is also available. Type in keywords related to your topic, and you will be get a list of results. On the left-hand side of the results page, you will find a number of limiters. One of them is a Text Availability limiter. If you would like to limit your results only to articles for which the full text is available through PubMed, click on Free Full Text.

Within the full records for these articles, you will see one or more options for full-text access to the right of the title, including Free Full Text [from] PMC (PubMed Central):

Date limiters are also provided along with limiters for Article Type. The Article Type limiters are especially useful if you would like to limit your results to the categories of articles found on the Evidence-Based Medicine Pyramid, such as systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials.

More filters, including additional article types, language, and age, can be found by clicking on the Additional Filters button.

PubMed also has a citation feature within each article record that will provide you with the AMA, APA, MLA, or NLM citation. As always, if you use this feature, be sure to verify the citation using the appropriate print manual, our Cite Sources Guide, or Purdue OWL.

For a more complete overview of PubMed, we recommend that you check out our PubMed video tutorial, which can be found on our Database Tutorials page.