Holocaust: Books

Focuses on 60 men and women involved in the Holocaust -- from Nazi persecutors and their victims to world leaders and policymakers, as well as those who showed their humanity and courage by resisting Hitler's Final Solution. Includes biographical sketches of Anne Frank, Adolf Hitler, Joseph Goebbels, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Oskar Schnidler, Hannah Senesh and 54 others with 120 black-and-white illustrations as well as a glossary and timeline.

Describes the events of the Holocaust in terms that help students comprehend the events that led to the event as well as the atrocity itself. Two volumes are arranged in subject chapters covering topics such as antisemitism, contemporary views of the Holocaust and more. Other features include sidebars highlighting people or key facts and about 120 black-and-white illustrations, including maps and photos. Includes a glossary and timeline.

Contains 34 speeches, diary entries, newspaper articles, poems and more that echo the pain of victims and the fierceness of the Nazi perpetrators of the Holocaust. Each entry provides an introduction to the excerpted speech or text, as well as: Things to Remember, What Happened Next, and Did You Know sections. Includes definitions of difficult primary source terms, sidebars featuring information on the speaker or author, and a timeline.

The memoir of Suzanne Mehler Whiteley describing years before the invasion of Holland, her experiences during the German occupation, her time spent in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, and her childhood afterward in Europe and then the United States.

The author's memoir, written in 1939 and unpublished until 2000, of the rise of Nazism in his native Germany from 1907 to 1933, which examines the influence of such groups as the Free Corps and the Hitler Youth on the German people, and includes predictions about his nation's fate.

The diary of a teenaged girl who hid with her family from the Nazis in Amsterdam from 1942 to 1944. Different edition available as an eBook.

The notebooks of Dawid Sierakowiak detailing his experiences in the Lodz Ghetto, where he perished. Different edition available as an eBook.

The author presents a lightly edited transcript of a recorded conversation with her mother, a Holocaust survivor from Lithuania who spent time in a concentration camp. Following the account, Zilber describes a trip that she took in which she attempted to retrace her mother's footsteps. In the final section of the book, the author reflects on what it was like to grow up as a child of Holocaust survivors and how it shaped her.

A journal written immediately after the war and then hidden away, unread, for nearly fifty years, in which much is told about life and death in the Warsaw Ghetto, about the terrifying deportations that began in 1942, about the author's own escape with her child,and about their subsequent struggle to hide with the help of Christian Poles.

Lily Ebert, a Holocaust survivor, and her great-grandson, Dov Forman, come together to share her story--an unforgettable tale of resilience and resistance. On Yom Kippur, 1944, fighting to stay alive as a prisoner in Auschwitz, Lily made a promise to herself. She would survive the hell she was in and tell the world her story, for everyone who couldn't. Now, at ninety-eight, this remarkable woman--and TikTok sensation, thanks to the help of her eighteen-year-old great-grandson--fulfills that vow, relaying the details of her harrowing experiences with candor, charm, and an overflowing heart.

A narrative written by a child survivor of the Holocaust. The author recounts his childhood in Poland before the war, his ghetto escape, his subsequent time hiding from the Nazis, his sojourn in Italy as a displaced person, and his life after immigrating to Canada.

The terrifying record of Elie Wiesel's memories of the death of his family, the death of his own innocence, and his despair as a deeply observant Jew confronting the absolute evil of man. Different edition available as an eBook.

A true story of one child's experiences during the Holocaust, describing the bewilderment of being a Jewish child during the 1939-1944 German occupation of her hometown, which was then in Hungary. Different edition available as an eBook.

Documents how the Nazis manipulated attitudes regarding the treatment of animals to reduce all ethical issues to biological questions.

Shows how artists and writers have tried to come to grips with the horror of the Holocaust.

Using primary documents, examines what Germans knew about the concentration camps and in what ways they were involved in the persecution of perceived race enemies, slave workers, and social outsiders. Also available as an eBook.

Based on untapped sources from eastern Europe and forgotten testimonies from Jewish survivors, this books presents a new explanation of the great atrocity of the twentieth century and reveals the risks that we face in the twenty-first.

Holocaust survivors remember the pivotal moments in which their lives were irreparably changed by the Nazis. Also available as an eBook.

Twenty-three survivors who were children in hiding during the Holocaust, often alone and without their families, share their moving wartime experiences.

Covers the events involved in the preparation and implementation of the planned annihilation of Europe's Jews by the Nazis. Also available as an eBook.

The first installment of the bestselling graphic novel recounting the chilling experiences of the author's father during the Holocaust, with Jews drawn as wide-eyed mice and Nazis as menacing cats.

The second installment of the bestselling graphic novel.

Contains previously unpublished material and photographs documenting the reality of life under Nazi rule and the evolution of the ruthless slaughter of millions of people in Germany. Also available as an eBook.

Tells the stories of those who caused, experienced, and witnessed the Holocaust. Also available as an eBook.

Traces the fight to preserve American democracy back to World War II, when a handful of committed public servants and brave private citizens thwarted far-right plotters trying to steer our nation toward an alliance with the Nazis.

Re-creates the stories of non-Jews who risked their lives to help Jews during the Holocaust. Also available as an eBook.

Diary entries written by teenaged five Holocaust victims document the ordeals suffered in Nazi-occupied Lithuania, Hungary, Belgium, and Holland. Also available as an eBook.

Examines the unique responses of women in the Holocaust, including their resourcefulness, their courage, and their suffering.

Presents biographies and memoirs of women, some of them Jewish, who fought in the resistance, were prisoners in concentration camps or survived in hiding.

The story of the Warsaw Ghetto told through 28 never-before-published accounts.

Depicts the evolution of the Holocaust comprehensively, as it is presented in the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Enhanced with new insights and updates based on archival information that had been inaccessible to researchers until after the collapse of the Soviet Union and the Communist regimes of Eastern and Central Europe.

Describes and interprets the persecution and murder of the Jews throughout occupied Europe.