Trout Library Blog

Martin Zipin (1920-1991) was an American artist and educator who was a faculty member at Harcum for 38 years from 1953 to 1991. Zipin studied art at Temple University's Tyler School. While at Harcum College, Zipin taught fine arts classes and served as faculty advisor for the student newspaper and theater, often performing in plays alongside student actors. He also supervised the work of students who volunteered to paint the Klein Hall murals. Harcum College has a collection of Zipin's artwork. Many pieces are on permanent display in the Trout Library's Strauss Family Rotunda. A common subject of Zipin's work was waterfront scenes of boats and docks, though the location was not identified on the work. 

Images of Zipin's art from Trout Library's Digital Archives & Special Collections

Now, thanks to the research efforts of Harcum College's First Lady, Margi Tucker DeTemple, we know where Zipin took inspiration for his waterfront themed paintings. The 1965 yearbook, Harlequin, notes that Zipin organized an annual field trip for art students to sketch waterfront scenes at Ship Bottom, Harvey Cedars, Loveladies and Barnegat Light on Long Beach Island, New Jersey. The day included sketching “on the docks of Independent Fishing Company, which has a group of commercial fishing boats of various ages and descriptions. Most of these boats were highly picturesque and lent themselves to colorful treatment.” Zipin owned a summer home at Loveladies, Long Beach Island, NJ. Part of the field trip included a lunchtime stop at his home where the students ate box lunches prepared by Chef Edward Reed. 

To see more examples of Zipin's work, please visit the Charles H. Trout Library or browse digital images of his work in the online collection or read through the finding aid. 

If you have questions about our archival collection or any other library resource, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may visit the Library during the hours posted on the Library's homepage, email us at library@harcum.edu, use our chat service when it is available, or call us at 610-526-6085.

Images from Harlequin, 1965

Have you tried the EBSCO Mobile App? It provides an easy way to access EBSCO Discovery Service on mobile devices. It is available for both Android and Apple devices. It provides full-text access to academic journal articles and eBooks. Read below for an introduction to app features and links to download. 

After downloading the app, open it on your device and tap Get Started.

Tap the search box to search for Harcum College or tap Use my location if you are on or near campus to have the app find Harcum College.

When prompted, log in with the College's username and password. The password is found in your Harcum Hatch in the "Library Database Password List" which is found under the QuickLinks menu. If you are on Harcum College wifi, you will be automatically signed in.

A nice feature of this app is that once you have logged in it will remain connected to Harcum College even if you close the app. You will not be prompted to sign in every time you open the app unless you sign out. 

The home screen of the app shows your Recently viewed articles. You can swipe left to access articles you've recently viewed. The app uses data from articles you've recently viewed to suggest related topics. Discover more articles by tapping on the subjects under Discover recent subjects.

To search the app, tap the magnifying glass in the bottom menu. Enter your search terms in the Search Box. Tap Search on your device's keyboard to run the search. Filters for Peer Reviewed, Full text, Date Range, and Source Type are listed below the Search Box. Tap on the filter to apply it to your results.

Reading or listening to full text articles and eBooks is done in the app. Simply tap on a result and tap on the Access options button to read or listen to the full text. 

To save results, there are a few options. Tap the Bookmarks icon on a result to save it to your bookmarks in the app. You can also use the share arrow to send an article using your device's tools. 

The EBSCO Mobile App is available for Apple and Android devices from the iTunes App store and Google Play Store. Scan this QR code with your device's camera to take you to the app on either Google Play or the Apple App Store.

As always, remember that if you have questions about this resource or any other, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may visit the Library during the hours posted on the Library's homepage, email us at library@harcum.edu, use our chat service when it is available, or call us at 610-526-6085.