General Reference: Health & Medicine

A comprehensive resource for consumers interested in health information.

Offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions.

A concise guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains more than 38,000 entries, and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.

A browsable, illustrated one-stop guide for reliable and updated information on the signs, symptoms, tests, treatment and prevention of most common health conditions.

An easy-to-use guide for managing more than 130 common health conditions safely at home.

Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.

The thoroughly updated 33rd Edition is an ideal resource for medical and allied health professionals, students in all healthcare disciplines, medical writers, editors, transcriptionists, coders, researchers, attorneys, and more – as well as those working in government agencies and healthcare management.

Regarded as one of the most respected and widely used health professions references, this all-inclusive dictionary helps you make sense of the complex world of health care. It includes detailed entries that give you the knowledge needed to communicate effectively with colleagues in various disciplines and is an indispensable guide to use throughout your career.

An illustrated, easy-to-understand approach, The Language of Medicine presents medical terms within the context of the body's anatomy and physiology, and in health and disease. With this proven resource, you'll learn a working medical vocabulary built on the most frequently encountered prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms. Practical exercises and case studies make learning more interesting and demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. Take advantage of interactive activities, games, quizzes, and flash cards on the Evolve companion website, and you will be ready to communicate fluently in the clinical setting and succeed in your healthcare career.

Build a medical vocabulary frame by frame as you explore each body system through the major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork.