Library Guides: Nutrition: Databases & Journals

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides access to full-text journal articles on animal science, criminal justice, education, social sciences, science, and veterinary nursing topics.
BioMed Central
Provides access to journal articles from 250 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
BioOne Complete
Explore more than 350 journals and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
CINAHL with Full Text
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and many allied health disciplines.
Clinicaltrials.gov
Includes a database of nearly 400,000 privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted in all 50 states and 220 countries.
Consumer Health Complete
Comprehensive database for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to help users gain an overall understanding of key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Credo Reference
Provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Contains an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
EBSCO Discovery Service
This tool enables users to search information across multiple research databases, including many resources available at Trout Library, using a single interface. It provides access to full-text journal articles and eBooks, along with links to catalog records for books and eBooks available in the library collection.
Free Medical Journals
Provides free access to medical journals covering numerous research topics.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers over 30,000 independent and documentary films, including titles of unique social and cultural significance from renowned collections such as The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and many independent filmmakers.
MedPix
An open-access database from the National Library of Medicine containing medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
NewsBank
Includes full text articles from more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. Publications include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
PubMed
Comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information, including research and development results.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Provides valuable perspectives on contemporary social issues, offering credible information and tools to help students think critically about global controversies.

Search Tips

Use Keywords

Keywords are descriptive words or important concepts. Search using just keywords rather than full sentences.
Omit words like "the", "a", "are", "it" from the search. Most databases do not search for these words and they can impact the search results.
Identify keywords from your background research.
Brainstorm synonyms for keywords and search all possible concepts.
Look up your keywords in the database Subject Headings or Thesaurus section to determine if you are using the correct phrase or spelling.

Improve Search Results by Connecting Keywords

Use AND to retrieve results with both concepts (mouse AND rat)
Use OR to retrieve either keyword (mouse OR rat)
Use NOT to omit a keyword (mouse NOT rat)
Put quotation marks around phrases to retrieve results with the exact phrase ("mouse and rat")
The asterisk (*) wildcard, also known as the truncation wildcard, is generally used to find word endings. (Metaboli* will find results with metabolism, metabolic, metabolite, metabolites, metabolizing, and metabolically)

Focus Results with Limiters

Full Text will limit results to articles with full text.
Peer Reviewed limits results to articles from peer-reviewed journals.
Scholarly Journals limits results to articles from academic publishers of both "peer-reviewed" and not "peer-reviewed" journals intended for an academic audience.
Date Published can be used to limit results to a specified date range.

Scholarly Journals & Popular Magazines

Popular Sources

If they cover research studies, they will broadly summarize studies that appeared in a scholarly journal
Articles are shorter than those in scholarly journals and cover a wide range of topics
Contain many photographs and advertisements
Articles are usually written by journalists
Written for a general audience
Examples include magazines like Philadelphia Magazine or newspapers like The New York Times

Scholarly Journals

Articles are written by scholars and researchers for a scholarly audience.
Articles are longer than articles found in popular magazines
Articles go into depth on a very specific topic
Articles report on research studies or experiments
Articles are intended to break new ground or fill gaps in human knowledge
Articles may contain case studies or literature reviews
Usually contain few or no advertisements
Examples include journals like Journal of Pediatric Nursing or Nature
Sources are always cited and lists of references are always included