Library Guides: Alzheimer's Disease &amp; Dementia: Websites & Databases

Websites

Alzheimer's Association
Alzheimer's Disease (CDC)
Links to data and statistics available in the menu on the left
Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral (ADEAR) Center
Alzheimer's Disease International: World Alzheimer Reports
alzheimers.gov
American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) -- Dementia and the Role of Occupational Therapy
ClinicalTrials.gov -- Alzheimer Disease
ClinicalTrials.gov -- Dementia
Cognitive Impairment & Degenerative Disease Education
Key warning signs, when and where to get checked, and how you can help those who live and work with various levels of impairment.
Dementia Action Alliance
Dementia Diaries
Healthline -- Everything You Need to Know About Alzheimer's Disease
Mayo Clinic -- Alzheimer's Disease
Mayo Clinic -- Dementia
MedlinePlus -- Alzheimer's Disease
MedlinePlus -- Dementia
Merck Manual -- Alzheimer Disease
Merck Manual -- Dementia
National Center for Health Statistics -- Alzheimer's Disease Mortality by State
National Center for Health Statistics -- FastStats for Alzheimer Disease
National Institute on Aging
NIH Alzheimer's Disease Fact Sheet
ScienceDaily -- Dementia News
World Health Organization (WHO) -- Dementia
World Health Rankings -- Alzheimer's/Dementia Death Rate by Country

Open Access Peer-Reviewed Journals

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides access to full-text journal articles on animal science, criminal justice, education, social sciences, science, and veterinary nursing topics.
CINAHL with Full Text
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Contains a limiter for evidence-based practice.
Clinicaltrials.gov
Includes a database of nearly 400,000 privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted in all 50 states and 220 countries.
Consumer Health Complete
Comprehensive database for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to help users gain an overall understanding of key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Credo Reference
Provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Contains an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
EBSCO Discovery Service
This tool enables users to search information across multiple research databases, including many resources available at Trout Library, using a single interface. It provides access to full-text journal articles and eBooks, along with links to catalog records for books and eBooks available in the library collection.
Free Medical Journals
Provides free access to medical journals covering numerous research topics.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers over 30,000 independent and documentary films, including titles of unique social and cultural significance from renowned collections such as The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and many independent filmmakers.
MedPix
An open-access database from the National Library of Medicine containing medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
NewsBank
Includes full text articles from more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. Publications include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
PLOS One
Includes open-access journals in science, technology, and medicine.
PubMed
Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes limiters for clinical trials, randomized controlled trials, and systematic reviews.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information, including research and development results.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Provides valuable perspectives on contemporary social issues, offering credible information and tools to help students think critically about global controversies.

Librarian

William Fanshel

Email Me

Contact:

Hours:
Mon.-Wed.: 1pm-9pm
Sat.: 10am-4pm
Sun: 2pm-8pm

610-229-9311