Library Guides: Fashion Design & Merchandising: Books, Databases & Resources

Books

Worn: A People's History of Clothing by Sofi Thanhauser
Publication Date: 391.009 .T367 2023
Tells five stories -- Linen, Cotton, Silk, Synthetics, Wool -- about the clothes we wear and where they come from, illuminating our world in unexpected ways.
Worn Out: How Our Clothes Cover Up Fashion's Sins by Alyssa Hardy
Call Number: 338.47687 .H268 2022
Examines the underside of the fashion industry, exploring the lives of the millions of garment workers who toil in the industry around the world, who experience sexual abuse while stitching clothes for high-fashion houses, or are given carcinogenic materials to work with. Also includes interviews with designers whose business models are based on ethical production standards.

University of Fashion Videos

Creating a Professional Fashion Design Portfolio by University of Fashion
This lecture will teach you how to prepare a professional fashion portfolio. You will learn the importance of keeping a sketchbook or process book, so that you can record your inspiration. Through numerous examples of actual New York based fashion designers, you will see how to assemble your ideas into the creation of an inspiration board. You will learn what to include in your inspiration board such as color, fabric swatches and embellishments and how to design and illustrate your collection. You will even learn the importance of choosing the right portfolio case! Special thanks to designers: Luan Vo, Ngockhanh Ngo, Carolyn Campo, Mark Virgil, Cindy Waters and Juan Carlos Martinez. (Runtime:13:26 mins.)
Eco Textiles by University of Fashion
This lesson will provide an overview of eco-textiles and the developments made to date in the world of sustainable textiles and best practices. It will cover the progress being made in reducing the environmental impact in the production, use, and disposal of textiles as well as the future of the global fashion industry as it continues to evolve and become more eco-conscious and aware. (Runtime: 27 mins.)

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text access to over 5,000 journals and magazines, including many peer-reviewed articles, plus numerous Associated Press videos covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
Business Book Summaries
Business Book Summaries provides concise summaries of top business books.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full-text access and searchable references on numerous business topics, including market research reports, industry and country analyses, company profiles, and SWOT reports.
EBSCO eBooks - Academic Collection
eBook: Academic Collection provides access to eBooks across diverse academic disciplines. Access thousands of titles from top publishers and university presses for research and learning.
EBSCO Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service provides a single search interface to explore a wide range of research databases, including full-text journal articles, eBooks, and videos.
NewsBank
NewsBank provides full-text access to over 8,000 news publications, including major national and international newspapers as well as local and regional sources for a broad perspective on global and local news.
The New York Times
The New York Times provides full digital access to its articles and features. With an academic pass, you can explore extensive news coverage, in-depth analyses, and special features until the pass expires.
The Philadelphia Inquirer
The Philadelphia Inquirer provides full-text access to current and archived articles with extensive coverage of news, features, and events from Philadelphia and the surrounding area.
Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full-text access to more than 80 regional business publications across the United States, offering in-depth insights into local and metropolitan business trends and developments.
SIRS Issues Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher provides in-depth analysis of key social issues with diverse viewpoints from more than 2,000 global sources, offering comprehensive coverage of current debates and research.
University of Fashion
University of Fashion provides an extensive video library covering key fashion topics. Access tutorials and insights on draping, pattern making, sewing, fashion art, knits, business strategies, accessories, product development, and CAD.
USA Trade Online
USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data.
Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily provides the latest fashion industry news and features updates on designers, celebrity trends, and in-depth coverage of fashion week events.

Fashion Design & Merchandising: Books, Databases & Resources

Women's Wear Daily

Books

University of Fashion Videos

Databases

Ask a Librarian