Social Justice: Criminal Investigation & Evidence

This textbook provides students and law enforcement officers with the fundamentals of the criminal investigation process, from arrival on the scene to trial procedures. Written in a clear and simple style, Criminal Investigation: Law and Practice surpasses traditional texts by presenting a unique combination of legal, technical, and procedural aspects of the criminal investigation. The hands-on approach taken by the author helps to increase the learning experience. Criminal Investigation: Law and Practice, Second Edition, has been written to provide future law enforcement officers with a basic understanding of the investigative process. It merges two areas that are crucial to the successful completion of an investigation: the law, both criminal and procedural, and criminal investigative techniques. It is writen to provide the student investigator with the information needed to complete and investigation that can result in a successful prosecution.

The Forensic Investigation Handbook is one of the most comprehensive forensic science texts available today. It outlines the general principles of forensic science including an overview of the history of forensic science, an introduction to ballistics, crime scene investigation techniques as well as evidence gathering, processing and documentation procedures. The Forensic Investigation Handbook presents valuable information on advanced forensic topics as well. These areas include criminal profiling, fingerprints and DNA as identification, the forensic autopsy, pharmacology, toxicology, and biohazard risks for the forensic investigator. The handbook also provides the reader with information on the American criminal justice system and how it relates to forensic science. The handbook also features one of the most detailed and extensive forensic glossaries ever assembled. It includes more than 600 pertinent forensic terms with definitions that will serve as an invaluable desk reference for forensic novices and seasoned veterans alike. The Forensic Investigation Handbook was written by Dr. Michael Karagiozis - a physician with fifteen years experience in the field of medicine and criminal justice and Richard Sgaglio, a professional with experience in both medical administration and hands-on investigation. In addition to writing, consulting and speaking nationally, Dr. Karagiozis is the lead instructor for the Certified Medical Investigator courses offered through the American College of Forensic Examiners Institute. Mr. Sgaglio is a contributing instructor for the ACFEIs curriculum as well. The Forensic Investigation Handbook serves as the official text for these courses and its certification examinations are derived from its content. The Forensic Investigation Handbook is a requisite for anyone interested in pursuing a career in any of the many forensic science disciplines or those currently working in this dynamic and ever-changing f

Contemporary policing is developing rapidly and is becoming increasingly professionalized. For practitioners National Occupational Standards, Skills for Justice and the the new PDLP (Police Development and Leaning Programme) have brought a new emphasis on skills, standards and knowledge. Training for police officers and civilian staff working in policing is being significantly upgraded. At the same time it has become more rigorous, with universities and other higher educational institutions playing an increasingly important part in police training - as well as expanding the range of policing courses for undergraduate and postgraduate students. Key features: approximately 300 entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts arranged alphabetically designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners entries include summary definition, main text and key texts and sources takes full account of emerging occupational and Skills for Justice criteria edited by the UK's leading academic expert on policing and the Chief Executive of the National Policing Improvement Agency Entries contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing

License: Attribution-NonCommercial

Faulty eyewitness identification is the most common source of wrongful convictions in the legal system. Here, take a closer look at some real-world instances of wrongful identification; discover how DNA testing has helped exonerate hundreds; and learn what specific reforms can help prevent these horrible mistakes in the future.

As well as the Detective Sergeant’s interviews with the victim, witness and suspect of a bag snatch, there are four different points of view of the snatch itself interspersed through the video. There are a further two sections at the beginning and end of the program which features a separate incident for use as an observational exercise and discussion trigger. The interviews demonstrate both good and bad practice.

The motives behind crimes haven't changed, but the methods and technologies used to solve them have. Conclude the course with a look at the history of three essential tools of forensic science that have revolutionized our ability to analyze and compare evidence and help bring criminals to well-deserved justice.

Mentally handicapped suspects; corrupt officials; misleading interrogation methods - these are some of the factors involved in false confessions that can destroy the innocent and allow the guilty to escape. Learn how this happens by examining several cases, including two in which innocent teenagers were forced into admitting guilt for killing family members.