Social Justice: Books & eBooks

Issue 1: Origins of Criminology

Issue 2: Biology and Criminology

Issue 3: Classical and Neoclassical Criminology

Issue 4: Social Disorganization Theory

Issue 5: Anomie and Strain Theories

Issue 6: Subcultural Theories

Issue 7: Social Control Theories

Issue 8: Social Learning Theories

Issue 9: Psychosocial Theories introduces the topics of IQ, personality, psychopathy, and mental illness and how they relate to criminal behavior.

Issue 10: Developmental and Life-Course Theories

Issue 11: Labeling Theory.

The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.

This book combines three key issues in the field of criminology: criminological theory, penology and crime prevention. Thus, the book addresses three fundamental criminological aspects, namely: explaining the causes of criminal/deviant behaviour, explaining the process of dealing with deviants/criminals, and articulating ways for preventing criminal activities. This is an essential book for researchers and students undertaking undergraduate and post-graduate programmes in criminology and criminal justice. The book is also essential for security and correctional practitioners such as police officers, correction officers, probation officers and private security players, as well as criminal crime control policy makers. As a lecturer in the field of criminology for some time, I discovered the challenges that most students face in comprehending various divergent aspects of criminological theory, as well as other issues in the areas of penology and crime prevention. However, this essential book logically presents the criminological theories, penology and crime prevention aspects in simple language, and anyone who reads it will find it easy to grasp all the various aspects it covers. To assist with comprehension, summaries of main issues and discussion questions are placed at the end of each chapter. The book is comprised of eight chapters. Chapter one, the introductory chapter, explains key concepts such as criminology, crime, deviance, criminal justice and crime statistics. The chapter also gives a brief history of criminology and outlines the role of the criminologist, among other issues. Chapter two to chapter six cover criminological theories in classes as follows: chapter two covers the classical and neoclassical school of criminology; chapter three covers the positivist school of criminology; chapter four covers socio-structural theories; chapter five covers social process theories; and chapter six covers critical theories. Chapter seven covers white-collar criminology and, given that most of the pioneer criminologists mainly focused on street crime, the chapter looks at white-collar crime, which is even more harmful. Chapter eight focuses on penology, which is the study of punishment and the treatment of offenders. It covers areas such as theories of punishment, forms of punishment, the death penalty, restorative justice and recidivism. Lastly, chapter nine focuses on crime control and prevention. The chapter starts by looking at two models of the criminal justice process, the crime control model and the due process model. The bulk of the chapter then looks at crime prevention, which entails any action designed to reduce the actual level of crime and/or the perceived fear of crime. Among others, the chapter looks at crime prevention through environmental design, situational crime prevention, crime prevention through social development, as well as various policing strategies for crime prevention.

By the late 1960s and early 1970s, reeling from a wave of urban uprisings, politicians finally worked to end the practice of redlining. Reasoning that the turbulence could be calmed by turning Black city-dwellers into homeowners, they passed the Housing and Urban Development Act of 1968, and set about establishing policies to induce mortgage lenders and the real estate industry to treat Black homebuyers equally. The disaster that ensued revealed that racist exclusion had not been eradicated, but rather transmuted into a new phenomenon of predatory inclusion. Race for Profit uncovers how exploitative real estate practices continued well after housing discrimination was banned. The same racist structures and individuals remained intact after redlining's end, and close relationships between regulators and the industry created incentives to ignore improprieties. Meanwhile, new policies meant to encourage low-income homeownership created new methods to exploit Black homeowners. The federal government guaranteed urban mortgages in an attempt to overcome resistance to lending to Black buyers - as if unprofitability, rather than racism, was the cause of housing segregation. Bankers, investors, and real estate agents took advantage of the perverse incentives, targeting the Black women most likely to fail to keep up their home payments and slip into foreclosure, multiplying their profits. As a result, by the end of the 1970s, the nation's first programs to encourage Black homeownership ended with tens of thousands of foreclosures in Black communities across the country. The push to uplift Black homeownership had descended into a goldmine for realtors and mortgage lenders, and a ready-made cudgel for the champions of deregulation to wield against government intervention of any kind. Narrating the story of a sea-change in housing policy and its dire impact on African Americans, Race for Profit reveals how the urban core was transformed into a new frontier of cynical extraction.

An eye for an eye, the balance of the scales - for centuries, these and other traditional concepts exemplified the public's perception of justice. Today, popular culture, including television shows like Law and Order, informs the public's vision. But do age-old symbols, portrayals in the media, and existing systems truly represent justice in all of its nuanced forms, or do we need to think beyond these notions? The second edition of Social Justice: Theories, Issues, and Movements responds to the need for a comprehensive introduction to these issues.   Theories of social justice are presented in an accessible fashion to encourage engagement of students, activists, and scholars with these important lines of inquiry. Issues are analyzed utilizing various theories for furthering engagement in possibilities. Struggles for justice -- from legal cases to on the ground movements -- are presented for historical context and to inform the way forward.