Library Guides: Social Justice: Organized Crime

Keywords

Corruption
Firearms trafficking
Fraud
Gangs
Human Trafficking
Illegal Trafficking
Mafia
Money Laundering
Narcotics
Organized Crime
Sex Trafficking
Transnational Crime
Transnational Organized Crime

Organized Crime

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text provides comprehensive coverage for research in social justice and criminology, featuring full-text access to leading journals and magazines on topics such as forensic sciences, corrections, policing, and criminal law.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full-text access and searchable references on diverse business topics, including market research reports, industry and country analyses, company profiles, and SWOT reports.
NewsBank
NewsBank offers full-text access to over 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries, including major national and international newspapers as well as local and regional sources for a broad perspective on global and local news.
Kanopy
Access over 30,000 films, including independent and documentary titles that address important social and cultural issues. Featuring renowned collections such as The Criterion Collection and The Great Courses, Kanopy is an invaluable resource for your studies and research.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) provides detailed information on criminal justice and drug-related topics, supporting research, policy formulation, and program development.
SIRS Issues Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher provides in-depth analysis of key social issues with diverse viewpoints from over 2,000 global sources, offering comprehensive coverage of current debates and research.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Violence & Abuse Abstracts offers comprehensive coverage of research on violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, and emotional abuse, providing detailed studies and discussions on these critical issues.

To see content from Credo Reference you need the username/password found in Harcum Hatch. The Library Database Password List is located under the Quick Links menu in Harcum Hatch. See the graphics on the left of the screen for more details.

EBSCO eBooks - Academic Collection
Our ebook collection has over 180,000 full-text ebooks on a variety of topics including organized crime. Search our ebook collection or browse the recommended titles below. (all available from Ebsco and requires username/password available from Harcum Hatch, Quicklinks, "Library Database Password List".

The FBI: a History by Rhodri Jeffreys-Jones
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
This "penetrating and remarkable history of the FBI" examines its operations and development from the Reconstruction era to the 9/11 attacks (M. J. Heale, author of McCarthy's Americans). In The FBI, U.S. intelligence expert Rhodri Jeffreys-Jones presents the first comprehensive portrait of the vast, powerful, and sometimes bitterly criticized American institution. Setting the bureau's story in the context of American history, he challenges conventional narratives--including the common misconception that traces the origin of the bureau to 1908. Instead, Jeffreys-Jones locates the FBI's true beginnings in the 1870s, when Congress acted in response to the Ku Klux Klan campaign of terror against black American voters. The FBI derives its character and significance from its original mission of combating domestic terrorism. The author traces the evolution of that mission into the twenty-first century, making a number of surprising observations along the way: that the role of J. Edgar Hoover has been exaggerated and the importance of attorneys general underestimated; that splitting counterintelligence between the FBI and the CIA in 1947 was a mistake; and that xenophobia impaired the bureau's preemptive anti-terrorist powers before and after 9/11.
FBI Careers, Third Edition by Thomas Ackerman
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
This is the definitive guide for handling the FBI's rigorous selection process and successfully landing a job for special agents as well as professional support personnel. Includes great tips on how to stand out from other applicants, completing sample applications¿and making them attractive, along with explanations of other forms encountered by aspiring FBI agents. Also includes tips on getting FBI internships¿an excellent way to ¿get a foot in the door.¿ The author is an experienced federal law enforcement officer, trainer, and sought-after speaker. The new edition completely updates details on the application process, pay scales, and more.
Organized Crime by Frederick B. Hall; Francis C. Martin
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
In the last two decades, organized crime has grown more complex, posing evolving challenges for U.S. federal law enforcement. These criminals have transformed their operations in ways that broaden their reach and make it harder for law enforcement to combat them. They have adopted more-networked structural models, internationalized their operations, and grown more tech savvy. They are a significant challenge to U.S. law enforcement. This book examines a broad conceptualization of organized crime in its narrative discussion of criminal activity. The analysis includes groups engaged in sustained criminal enterprises, such as, but not limited to: drug traffickers, mafia families, smugglers, violent gangs, and fraudsters. These operations may or may not have a transnational dimension to them, but they directly impact U.S. persons, businesses, and/or interests.
Transnational Organized Crime by Jay S. Albanese (Editor); Philip L. Reichel (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Transnational Organized Crime: An Overview from Six Continents explores the expansive topic of transnational organized crime, incorporating expert perspectives found throughout the world's six inhabited continents: North America, Central and South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania. Editors Jay S. Albanese and Philip L. Reichel gather the knowledge and expertise of numerous authors, researchers, and practitioners in this field who are either native to each world region, have extensively travelled and worked there, or are recognized scholars for those regions. Through this unique text, readers will begin to understand the geographic, cultural, and regional similarities and differences underying the common threat of transnational organized crime, as well as how to address the global expansion of organized crime today.

MERLOT
Search "criminal justice" or a specific topic such as "organized crime" for a selection of course material from various institutions.
MOM: Mason OER Metafinder
The OER Metafinder launches a simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials.
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.

Open Access Resources of Interest:

Transnational Organized Crime by Heinrich Heinrich (Editor)
Call Number: Available via Directory of Open Access Books
Publication Date: 2014
Transnational organized crime interferes with the everyday lives of more and more people - and represents a serious threat to democracy. By now, organized crime has become an inherent feature of economic globalization, and the fine line between the legal and illegal operation of business networks is blurred. Additionally, few experts could claim to have comprehensive knowledge and understanding of the laws and regulations governing the international flow of trade, and hence of the borderline towards criminal transactions. This book offers contributions from 12 countries around the world authored by 25 experts from a wide range of academic disciplines, representatives from civil society organizations and private industry, journalists, as well as activists. Recognizing the complexity of the issue, this publication provides a cross cultural and multi-disciplinary analysis of transnational organized crime including a historical approach from different regional and cultural contexts.

200 Definitions of Organized Crime
Definitions of Organized Crime collected by Klaus von Lampe.
The Many Wars on Crime - lecture notes
This site contains lecture notes that are part of an introductory criminal justice course. This section discusses the war on organized crime, the war on drugs, the war on terrorism, and the war on guns. It also contains links to outside resources.

FBI Database of Famous Cases/Criminals
A collection of the most famous or significant cases and criminals of the FBI.
FBI Records - The Vault - Organized Crime files
The Vault is the FOIA library of released FBI records. You can browse a list of files on Organized Crime. Take a look at the FBI file on Al Capone.
Office of Justice Programs - Bureau of Justice Statistics
Their mission is "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government." Statistics are for the United States.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
Contains free reports titled "Transnational Organized Crime Threat Assessments". These provide evidence-based assessments of worldwide organized crime.

FRONTLINE Documentaries on Criminal Justice
FRONTLINE is a program produced by PBS. FRONTLINE creates documentaries on a variety of topics including criminal justice and organized crime.

Kanopy
Kanopy has a collection of documentaries and films on the topic of organized crime. (Requires Kanopy password found in Harcum Hatch. See instructions on how to find the password on the left of this screen.)

TED - The deadly genius of organized crime
Collection of 5 talks on the topic of organized crime.