Library Guides: Sports Management: EDGAR Database

EDGAR Database

EDGAR
EDGAR (Electronic Data-Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) is an open-access database maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It automates the collection, validation, indexing, and dissemination of financial reports and filings from public companies, mutual funds, and other entities, and provides comprehensive access to documents like annual reports (10-K) and quarterly reports (10-Q).

Finding 10-K and 10-Q Forms in the EDGAR Database

Public companies file these reports with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) using a database called EDGAR.

10-Q Form

The 10-Q form is a quarterly report that publicly traded businesses must file with the SEC. These reports provide a financial overview of the company for the previous quarter. Companies file three 10-Q forms each year.

10-K Form

The 10-K form is a company's annual report. It provides a broad overview of the company and its financial status. 10-K submissions are not necessarily the same as the reports that companies send to their shareholders.

EDGAR Database Tutorial

Need help searching the EDGAR database? You can email library@harcum.edu or call 610-526-6085 for assistance.

EDGAR Financial Report - APA Citation Style

Name of Company. (Year, Month Day). Form Title. Retrieved from https://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml

Starbucks Corporation. (2025, March 7). Form 8-K. Retrieved from https://www.sec.gov/ix?doc=/Archives/edgar/data/0000829224/000082922425000020/sbux-20250304.htm