New Books: August Books

Almost six million Americans--about one in every ten people over the age of sixty-five--have Alzheimer's disease or related dementias, and this number is projected to more than double by 2050. What is it like to live with and amid this increasingly prevalent condition--an affliction that some fear more than death? In My Father's Brain, the distinguished physician and author Sandeep Jauhar sets his father's descent into Alzheimer's alongside his own journey toward understanding this disease and how it might best be coped with, if not cured.

For the first time, Dawn Staley shares her inspiring life story. A three-time Olympic Gold medalist, six-time WNBA All-Star, and the first person to win the Naismith College Player of the Year award as both a player and coach, Staley has shattered expectations at every level of the game. While her name resonates with both longtime WNBA fans and newcomers, she has kept her personal life private. Uncommon Favor reveals the journey that led to Staley's success, including the challenges she faced. From dealing with sexism on the court to feeling isolated in new environments, Staley honed her skills and learned valuable life lessons about mental fortitude and maturity that have grounded her throughout her career. Beginning with her humble origins on the North Philadelphia basketball court and her rise to national fame at the University of Virginia -- where she led her team to three Final Fours -- Staley recounts the key moments that shaped her winning mindset. Her iconic career in the WNBA and her groundbreaking coaching journey at the University of South Carolina highlight the milestones and turning points that have defined her success, both on and off the court. Fearless and authentic, Uncommon Favor shares the rewards of leading with conviction and the courage to redefine the limits of what is possible.

Master the role of the medical laboratory scientist working in the blood bank and transfusion services! Basic & Applied Concepts of Blood Banking and Transfusion Practices, 6th Edition combines scientific principles with practice tips to engage learners with realistic laboratory experiences. These concepts are delivered through relevant case studies and critical thinking exercises. The text provides an overview of topics including quality and safety, the major blood groups, blood collecting and testing, transfusion reactions, and blood component preparation. Written by Paula Howard and Wyenona "Nonie" Hicks, both experienced Medical Laboratory Scientists and certified as Specialists in Blood Banking (SBB), this text is ideal for students in any Medical Laboratory Science (MLS), Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT), or Blood Bank Technology (BBT) training program, as well as for practicing laboratory and healthcare professionals who wish to train for work in blood banks and transfusion services. NEW! Full-color illustrations that break down concepts for enhanced learner comprehension, especially for those who favor visual learning NEW! Did You Know?, Case Study, ALERT! What's the Impact?, and Practice Tips provide important facts and guidelines to prepare you for situations encountered in practice NEW! Additional case studies relate to donor qualification and testing, ABO discrepancies, molecular immunohematology techniques, antibody identification, stem cell transplants, and coagulation disorders, offering extra practice in critical thinking development NEW! Cell therapy and flow cytometry information, expanded HLA and platelet antigen and antibody material, detailed molecular genetic information in the Rh blood group system chapter, and an expanded molecular genetics section prepare you for the questions you'll be challenged with on the certification exam NEW! End-of-chapter Critical Thinking and Study Questions are keyed to the objectives Coverage of current clinical practices includes transplantation and cellular therapy, the HLA system, molecular techniques and applications, automation, blood donor qualification, collection and testing, component manufacturing and transfusion practices, therapeutic phlebotomy and therapeutic apheresis, and antibody identification and special techniques Learning features in each chapter break down difficult concepts with outlines, learning objectives, key terms with definitions, special callouts, chapter summaries, basic and challenging case studies, critical thinking exercises, and study questions Numerous new, updated, and expanded tables summarize key information and make it easier to compare content. These will certainly continue to provide excellent references for graduates practicing in blood banks and transfusion services Updated illustrated blood group antigen toolbars show at a glance the ISBT symbol, number, clinical significance, reactions to chemical treatments, and more for antibodies Comprehensive glossary provides definitions to key terms throughout the text Expanded online resources for students and instructors include additional study/test questions and case studies

A practical guide to preparing students and job candidates for the demands of the modern workplace  How can we prepare learners for an ever-changing world and job market? What are 21st century employers looking for in applicants, and how do we coach jobseekers to be ready on day one? Now is the time to rethink and expand how we prepare job seekers for the roles that will launch their careers. In Shift Teaching Forward, Kelly Cassaro gives educators the knowledge, insight, and practical advice they need to prime students for the social, emotional, and behavioral skills they need to thrive in tomorrow's workplace.   Shift Teaching Forward showcases the ecosystem of elements that characterizes a successful job-training program. As educators, we need to focus not only on standards alignment and technical skills, but also on the soft skills that will make students stand out as job candidates. In today's labor market, being able to do the job is just the first step. We need to prepare students to interact with others, contribute to inclusive workplaces, and become collaborators--whatever their industry or career goals. This book shows the way.  Discover why social, emotional, and behavioral skills are so critical for workplace success   Get ideas and insight for integrating soft skills into secondary, postsecondary, and vocational training programs  Develop training programs that will improve collaboration and inclusivity in your workplace  Prepare learners for the future of work by embracing the full range of job readiness skills  This book is ideal for secondary, postsecondary, and vocational educators and administrators, and it will also appeal to organizations looking to develop in-house talent. 

After more than a decade of stability or improvement, the mental health of adolescents plunged in the early 2010s, with rates of depression, anxiety, self-harm, and suicide rising sharply. The author lays out the facts about the epidemic of teen mental illness that hit many countries at the same time, and then investigates the nature of childhood, including why children need play and independent exploration to mature into competent, thriving adults. He presents more than a dozen mechanisms by which this rewiring of childhood has interfered with children's social and neurological development, covering everything from sleep deprivation to attention fragmentation, addiction, loneliness, social contagion, social comparison, and perfectionism. He explains why social media damages girls more than boys and why boys have been withdrawing from the real world into the virtual world, with disastrous consequences. He describes steps that parents, teachers, schools, tech companies, and governments can take to end the epidemic of mental illness and restore a more humane childhood.

After struggling to build its products on three continents, Apple was lured by China's seemingly inexhaustible supply of cheap labor. Soon it was sending thousands of engineers across the Pacific, training millions of workers, and spending hundreds of billions of dollars to create the world's most sophisticated supply chain. These capabilities enabled Apple to build the 21st century's most iconic products--in staggering volume and for enormous profit. Without explicitly intending to, Apple built an advanced electronics industry within China, only to discover that its massive investments in technology upgrades had inadvertently given Beijing a power that could be weaponized. In Apple in China, journalist Patrick McGee draws on more than two hundred interviews with former executives and engineers, supplementing their stories with unreported meetings held by Steve Jobs, emails between top executives, and internal memos regarding threats from Chinese competition. The book highlights the unknown characters who were instrumental in Apple's ascent and who tried to forge a different path, including the Mormon missionary who established the Apple Store in China; the "Gang of Eight" executives tasked with placating Beijing; and an idealistic veteran whose hopes of improving the lives of factory workers were crushed by both Cupertino's operational demands and Xi Jinping's war on civil society. Apple in China is the sometimes disturbing and always revelatory story of how an outspoken, proud company that once praised "rebels" and "troublemakers"--the company that encouraged us all to "Think Different"--devolved into passively cooperating with a belligerent regime that increasingly controls its fate.

Now fully revised and updated, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 15th Edition, remains your go-to reference for authoritative content on the full spectrum of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. World-renowned authors and editors expertly bridge the gap between basic science and clinical information, keeping you up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, clinical trials, and more. This essential reference is a must-have resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, pediatricians, and other clinicians who need current, comprehensive coverage of this multifaceted field. Key Features: 1) Presents current information in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format for quick reference. 2) Includes new chapters on Skeletal Regulation of Metabolism, Digitized Approaches to Diabetes Therapeutics, and MODY and Atypical Diabetes. 3) Reflects updated approaches to transgender medicine as well as new coverage of viral infections, including COVID-19. 4) Covers hot topics such as personalized medicine; the latest methodologies and trends regarding cancer genomics, precision oncology, and cell biology; and updates in key areas such as adrenal dysfunction and diabetes. 5) Provides state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic bone disorders, obesity and thyroid disease, as well as pituitary, gonadal, and adrenal disorders, and much more--all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. 6) Features contributions from today's thought leaders in endocrinology. 6) Contains a selected reading list and highlighted key references nominated by the editors.

Discover an innovative, evidence-based method for preparing students for the demands of college writing called Supporting Strategic Writers (SSW). The goal of SSW is to help students become independent learners who understand the value of strategies and can apply them flexibly in future courses and the workplace. The text provides genre-based strategies for rhetorical analysis, planning, evaluation and revision, critical reading of sources, and synthesis of sources that are part of college composition and applicable across contexts and course assignments. Equally important to the SSW approach is that students learn metacognitive strategies for goal setting, task management, progress monitoring, and reflection. Instructional methods include discussion of model essays, think-aloud modeling of strategies, collaborative writing, peer review and self-evaluation, and reflective journaling. Book Features: Integrates three critical components: strategies for critical reading and writing, metacognitive strategies to help students take control of their learning, and pedagogical strategies. Provides research-based approaches for teaching developmental writing courses, first-year composition, summer bridge programs, and first-year seminars. Offers thorough explanations of the strategies and instructional methods, with practical examples and support materials for instructors. Based on two years of design research and three experimental studies which found significant positive effects on writing quality and motivation with college students in developmental writing courses.

This book brings together a diverse range of scholars and practitioners working at the nexus of health literacy work in libraries. This engaging resource presents a practical and accessible guide to meet the needs of librarians, health literacy researchers, and information and service professionals seeking to address health literacy needs in their communities. Through chapters offering multiple perspectives on the topic, Health Literacy and Libraries covers specific types of literacy, such as mental health literacy and health insurance literacy, as well as timely applications, such as health misinformation. Chapters also feature responsive health literacy initiatives in LGBTQ+, Latinx, Black, and immigrant, refugee, and migrant communities. This book is full of numerous examples, thoughtful advice, and discussions addressing the challenges of working with adolescents and young adults, older adults, and parent caregivers of children with rare diseases. Each chapter starts with "Key Messages" synthesizing the main points and concludes with a proposed set of "Discussion Questions" to inspire further reflection and to facilitate health literacy conversations. Overall, the up-to-date coverage of health literacy in various library settings and contexts explored throughout this book, as well as strategies for working with medical professionals and students, will be beneficial to a range of stakeholders interested in health literacy work.

Memory is far more than a record of the past. In this groundbreaking tour of the mind and brain, one of the world's top memory researchers reveals the powerful role memory plays in nearly every aspect of our lives, from recalling faces and names, to learning, decision-making, trauma and healing. A new understanding of memory is emerging from the latest scientific research. In Why We Remember, pioneering neuroscientist and psychologist Charan Ranganath radically reframes the way we think about the everyday act of remembering. Combining accessible language with cutting-edge research, he reveals the surprising ways our brains record the past and how we use that information to understand who we are in the present, and to imagine and plan for the future. Memory, Dr. Ranganath shows, is a highly transformative force that shapes how we experience the world in often invisible and sometimes destructive ways. Knowing this can help us with daily remembering tasks, like finding our keys, and with the challenge of memory loss as we age. What's more, when we work with the brain's ability to learn and reinterpret past events, we can heal trauma, shed our biases, learn faster, and grow in self-awareness. Including fascinating studies and examples from pop culture, and drawing on Ranganath's life as a scientist, father, and child of immigrants, Why We Remember is a captivating read that unveils the hidden role memory plays throughout our lives. When we understand its power-- and its quirks--we can cut through the clutter and remember the things we want to remember. We can make freer choices and plan a happier future.

The last time Clancy Martin tried to kill himself was in his basement with a dog leash. It was one of over ten attempts throughout the course of his life. But he didn't die, and like many who consider taking their own lives, he hid the attempt from his wife, family, coworkers, and students, slipping back into his daily life with a hoarse voice, a raw neck, and series of vague explanations. In How Not to Kill Yourself, Martin chronicles his multiple suicide attempts in an intimate depiction of the mindset of someone obsessed with self-destruction. He argues that, for the vast majority of suicides, an attempt does not just come out of the blue, nor is it merely a violent reaction to a particular crisis or failure, but is the culmination of a host of long-standing issues. He also looks at the thinking of a number of great writers who have attempted suicide and detailed their experiences (such as David Foster Wallace, Yiyun Li, Akutagawa, Nelly Arcan, and others), at what the history of philosophy has to say both for and against suicide, and at the experiences of those who have reached out to him across the years to share their own struggles. The result combines memoir with critical inquiry to powerfully give voice to what for many has long been incomprehensible, while showing those presently grappling with suicidal thoughts that they are not alone, and that the desire to kill oneself-- like other self-destructive desires-- is almost always temporary and avoidable.

With evocative storytelling and incisive research, Katie Rose Guest Pryal brings a new eye to the mental health crisis that higher education has faced for decades. Written from the perspective of a bipolar-autistic professor, A Light in the Tower is both a bracing account of the mental health crisis in higher education and a passionate and informed proposal for how to teach with mental health in mind. Pryal contends that higher education's mental health crisis is the result of long-term systemic problems in education that demand nothing short of a revolution. She examines the anxiety that plagues campuses as a result of exploited and overworked contingent faculty and students, the shock events like COVID-19 and campus shootings that traumatize communities, the systemic and institutional burnout that affects higher education at every level, and the market-driven culture of toxic overwork. These are large-scale problems that need large-scale solutions. Addressing the stigma that haunts mental disability on campus, the ableism that hounds our teaching, and the cascade of mental health struggles that far too many faculty and students face, Pryal provides straightforward solutions to these complex challenges. A Light in the Tower argues that excellent education and radical support for mental health struggles can coexist and provides detailed advice for how to do so. Meanwhile, Pryal debunks claims that supporting student mental health harms educational rigor (coining the term "rigor angst" to discuss the fear that rigor is declining). She outlines actionable steps professors and administrators can take to address the problem, including abandoning ableist and exclusionary campus culture; replacing "bad-hard" work that creates unnecessary logistical difficulties for students in favor of "good-hard" work that challenges them intellectually, providing an easy path to disability accommodations; and teaching accessibly for neurodivergent students.

Learn a conceptual approach to nursing care and how to apply concepts to a wide variety of clinical settings. This text uses a straightforward, intuitive approach to describe 60 important concepts, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Exemplars identified for each concept provide useful examples and models, helping you more easily understand concepts and apply them to any clinical setting. New to this edition are six new concepts and a focus on related core competencies. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this authoritative text will help you build clinical judgment skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation.

Occupational Therapy for People Experiencing Illness, Injury or Impairment: Promoting Occupational Participation, Eighth Edition is a seminal textbook that has been used in preregistration occupational therapy education for more than 40 years. Now in its eighth edition, it reflects significant developments within the occupational profession and the contexts of the delivery of health and social care when working with people who experience illness, injury or impairment to promote occupational participation. It is highly regarded for its level of detail, its practical approach, and the breadth of its content, with input from multiple authors from around the world. Fully updated and built around the professional concepts and processes to promote occupational participation this invaluable resource will enable occupational therapists link theory with day-to-day practice, reflect on the knowledge, expertise and attitudes that inform their work and practice in a critically reflexive way. Practical text and online assets link theory with day-to-day practice Collaborative-relationship-focused, inclusive and strengths-based language Summaries and key points for each chapter make navigation easy Focus on working with groups, communities and populations in addition to working with individuals, reflecting the evolving and expanding scope of practice Practice stories throughout the text, and detailed practice stories in Section 5, inviting the reader to reflect on the information, skills and attitudes that inform practice Online multiple choice questions and questions for reflection at the end of each chapter enable readers to assess and apply their knowledge

A straightforward look at the history and the art of maintaining courteous communication in an increasingly divided world.

The COVID pandemic won't be our last - because what makes us vulnerable to pandemics also makes us human. That is the uncomfortable but all-too-timely message of The Human Disease, which travels through history and around the globe to examine how and why pandemics are an inescapable threat of our own making. Drawing on dozens of disciplines - from medicine, epidemiology, and microbiology to anthropology, sociology, ecology, and neuroscience - as well as a unique expertise in public education about pandemic risks, biological anthropologist Sabrina Sholts identifies the human traits and tendencies that double as pandemic liabilities, from the anatomy that defines us to the misperceptions that divide us. Weaving together a wealth of personal experiences, scientific findings, and historical stories, Sholts brings dramatic and much-needed clarity to one of the most profound challenges we face as a species. Though the COVID-19 pandemic looms large in Sholts's account, it is, in fact, just one of the many infectious disease events explored in The Human Disease. With its expansive, evolutionary perspective, the book explains how humanity will continue to face new pandemics because humans cause them, by the ways that we are and the things that we do. By recognizing our risks, Sholts suggests, we can take actions to reduce them. When the next pandemic happens, and how bad it becomes, are largely within our highly capable human hands - and will be determined by what we do with our extraordinary human brains.

Gain an understanding of diseases and disorders to effectively assist the Physical Therapist! Goodman and Fuller's Pathology for the Physical Therapist Assistant, 3rd Edition provides a solid background in pathology concepts and how they affect the role of the PTA in client rehabilitation. With an easy-to-read approach, chapters define each disease or systemic disorder, then describe appropriate physical therapy assessments plus guidelines, precautions, and contraindications for interventions. Case studies show how treatment ideas may be applied in everyday practice. From PTA educator Charlene M. Marshall, this market-leading pathology text provides the practical tools required to treat patients knowledgeably and effectively. It also includes a fully searchable eBook version with each print purchase. Concise information on disease processes and systemic disorders provides a background in the underlying pathology of diseases, helping PTAs to ask their patients appropriate questions and to adapt therapeutic exercise programs Easy-to-follow format is organized to first define each disorder, followed by sections on clinical manifestations and medical management Chapter objectives, outlines, and vocab builders at the beginning of each chapter introduce the topics and terminology to be presented Medical Management sections address diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis for each condition discussed Focus on the Physical Therapist Assistant's role provides the PTA with specific guidelines to the rehabilitation process for patients with diseases and disorders Special Implications for the PTA sections allow students to easily reference information on working with patients with specific diseases or pathologic conditions Nearly 800 drawings and photos reinforce student understanding of diseases, conditions, and general pathology principles Standardized terminology and language is consistent with the Guide to Physical Therapy Practice, familiarizing readers with the standard terminology used in PT practice Abundance of tables and boxes summarize important points, making it easy to access key information E-chapters add supplemental information on behavioral and environmental factors, the gastrointestinal system, the reproductive system, lab tests and values, and more NEW! Updated and revised content throughout provides students with the current information they need to be effective clinicians NEW! Clinical Pharmacology Spotlight provides an easy-reference summary of the basic pharmacology information for each pathology NEW! eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows students to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud

Twenty-five years after the publication of his groundbreaking first book, Malcolm Gladwell returns with "curiosity and humor" in this New York Times bestseller that reframes the lessons of The Tipping Point in a startling and revealing light (Shannon Carlin). ​ Why is Miami...Miami? What does the heartbreaking fate of the cheetah tell us about the way we raise our children? Why do Ivy League schools care so much about sports? What is the Magic Third, and what does it mean for racial harmony? In this provocative new work, Malcolm Gladwell returns for the first time in twenty-five years to the subject of social epidemics and tipping points, this time with the aim of explaining the dark side of contagious phenomena.   Through a series of riveting stories, Gladwell traces the rise of a new and troubling form of social engineering. He takes us to the streets of Los Angeles to meet the world's most successful bank robbers, rediscovers a forgotten television show from the 1970s that changed the world, visits the site of a historic experiment on a tiny cul-de-sac in northern California, and offers an alternate history of two of the biggest epidemics of our day: COVID and the opioid crisis. Revenge of the Tipping Point is Gladwell's most personal book yet. With his characteristic mix of storytelling and social science, he offers a guide to making sense of the contagions of modern world. It's time we took tipping points seriously. Most Anticipated in: AARP| Associated Press| Time Magazine | Oprah Daily | Chicago Tribune | Literary Hub | Publishers Weekly | Publishers Lunch

Muggles is a small pony with a big personality, big stomach, and big heart. He is friends with all the animals at Whistle Hill Farm, where he is asked to help solve a mystery when his feline friend Finn is concerned over some missing cat food. During this fun and easy read you will meet many of the animals who live on and around Whistle Hill Farm, while trying to figure out who the culprit to this crime is.