LOGIN to Harcum Hatch
What is a database anyway? In computing terms, a database is a collection of data or information which can be sorted and selected. It could be as complex as a book-keeping system or as simple as the contacts app on your phone. In libraries we use databases of articles and books to help us find the right article or book for our research questions.
From: Helicon (Ed.). (2018). Database. In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide. Helicon. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NTEyNjEw?aid=237793
Many of us are very used to searching Google. It can seem like everything you need is on Google. In reality, only a small fraction of available information is available through a Google search. If you think of the internet as an iceberg, only the very top of the iceberg, the part above water, is what is available through Google in what is known as the "open web". The rest of the information is below the water. In internet terms, "below the water" means behind a paywall or requires a username/password, and often a fee, to access. Research databases are part of that "below the water" section of the iceberg. Libraries pay for access to research databases so that the patrons of the library can gain access to needed research material. Research material found in databases are often high-quality and certainly more reliable than information found through a Google search. Whereas virtually anyone can publish to the open internet, research databases are strict and carefully oversee the quality of materials accepted.
Provides access to full-text journal articles on animal science, criminal justice, education, social sciences, science, and veterinary nursing topics.
Kanopy offers over 30,000 independent and documentary films, including titles of unique social and cultural significance from renowned collections such as The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and many independent filmmakers.