Skip to Main Content
The Charles H. Trout Library
Harcum College Logo

Cite Sources: Annotated Bibliography

Steps to Create an Annotated Bibliography

  1. Open and log into the SIRS Issues Researcher database. Note: for off-campus access you will be asked to provide a username/password which are found in your Harcum Hatch under "Library Database Passwords".
  2. Search for a Topic: Type a few core keywords related to your research question into the search box. The autocorrect feature may suggest search terms to you as you type. Try search terms like:
    • college students financial literacy
    • undergraduates health
    • cultural awareness college
  3. Browse the results and select one that fits your topic. Email the article to yourself or download it to save it. 
  4. Read the Article. Use the Listen button for text-to-speech if preferred.
  5. Generate a Citation: Click the Cite button to open the citation generator.
  6. Select Citation Style: Choose your style (e.g., MLA, APA) and click COPY.
  7. Paste the citation into your document
  8. Format the citation in Google Docs
    • Highlight the whole citation
    • Go to: Format → Align and Indent → Indentation Options
    • Under Special Indent, select Hanging
    • Type 0.5 in the box and click Apply
  9. Write Your Annotation: Add a brief summary and evaluation of the article below the citation. See the Elements of an Annotated Bibliography in the next box. 

Video: How to find articles and format an annotated bibliography

Elements of an Annotated Bibliography

In an annotated bibliography, each citation is followed by a brief description and evaluation of the source. The length of the annotation is generally 100 to 200 words. Annotations may include some or all of the following elements:

  • An outline of the main argument
  • The content or scope of the text
  • The background of the author
  • Any conclusions made by the author
  • The intended audience
  • Any research methods used
  • The reliability of the text
  • A mention of any special features of the text, such as charts or graphs, that were useful
  • The relevance of the text for your research
  • The way the text relates to themes or concepts in your course
  • The strengths and limitations of the text
  • How you reacted to the text