Trout Library Blog

This week we look at the resources available to students and faculty of Harcum’s Animal Center Management and Veterinary Nursing programs.

Animal Center Management and Veterinary Nursing each have their own library guide specifically crafted to the research needs of each program. Students and faculty are encouraged to bookmark these guides.

To begin with, each guide has the library hours, contact information and the Ask-a-Librarian chat window. Please contact the library if you experience any difficulty using our resources or need help finding information. We are happy to help.

All passwords for any of the resources mentioned in this post are located in your Harcum Hatch.  Log into Harcum Hatch and go to Quicklinks and scroll down to "Library Database Password List". Keep these passwords handy as you begin searching. 

Each guide has a search box for EBSCO Discovery Service. This is a great first-step in your search because it allows you to search a number of subscription databases at once. Search results often include a variety of formats including academic articles, trade magazines, eBooks and video.  Below is an example of a search I ran in EBSCO Discovery. I used the left-hand menu to limit the results to just eBooks. From here I can browse a PDF version of the book by clicking on PDF Full Text or I can see more details of the book by clicking on the linked title. 

Once you have exhausted the results of a search in EBSCO Discovery Service. You can move on to other databases that were not included in your Discovery search results. 

For academic articles there are a number of options. Students are encouraged to look at the suggested list of databases on the Databases tab. PubMed, Paperity and BioOne are three excellent sources for scientific articles. Each of these databases are open access. You do not need a password to search. However, you may not be able to access every article you find. If you need the full text of any article you can submit the details to us and we will order the full text through interlibrary loan. 

If you need films or videos, check the Kanopy Films & Documentaries tab. A curated selection of films and documentaries are listed on that tab but you can also go to Kanopy and search for your topic. The Kanopy tab details how to access Kanopy from home. If you have any difficulties accessing Kanopy, please contact the library. 

A few search tips:
Search keywords instead of phrases. For example, if my research is on the diet of cockatiels I would search using keywords like  cockatiel or Nymphicus hollandicus and diet or nutrition or feeding. Try searching for both the common and scientific names and using synonyms if your initial search terms do not yield the results you need. Combining keywords will give you fewer but focused results. 

Please reach out if you need any assistance finding resources. 
 

Roxanne Sutton

Reference and Special Collections Librarian

rsutton@harcum.edu

610-526-6022

The Trout Library has many resources to help students in the Dental Assisting and Dental Hygiene programs. This week, we will be highlighting these resources.

As we have done for every program at Harcum, we have created a library guide for Dental Assisting│EFDA│Dental Hygiene. To find the Library Guides, click on the Library Guides icon under Quick Links on the Library’s website. Guides for individual health topics are available as well.

Library guides contain tabs for Websites, Databases, Books & eBooks, Videos & Podcasts, Open Educational Resources (OERs), and more.

Under the guide's Databases tab, you will find a list of all the databases we offer that are relevant to the dental field. Some are subscription databases, denoted by a bear icon. To access these databases from off campus, you will need a username and password that can be found in the Library Database Password List under Quicklinks in Harcum Hatch. The primary subscription database that you would use to find peer-reviewed articles in the dental field would be Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source. CINAHL and Academic Search Complete are other databases that would be useful to you. These databases contain a considerable amount of full-text availability.

The databases denoted by a blue looking glass icon are open access and thus freely available to the general public. Health-related databases in this category that would be beneficial to dental students include BioMed Central, PLOS (Public Library of Science), PubMed, and ScienceOpen. They also include a great deal of full text.

If you wish to search for eBooks, we have EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection, which is also available through a link on our databases page and requires a username and password. Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), which is available to the general public, is another good source to use.

In order to find drug information, we have the Lexicomp Online for Dentistry database, which requires a username and password that you would retrieve from Harcum Hatch. Lexicomp provides industry-leading reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions, with dental-specific pharmacology information on over 8,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications (OTCs) and natural products, plus tools such as a drug interactions/drug allergy screener and a drug identifier. In Lexicomp, find information such as brand names, generic availability, pharmacologic category, dosage, allergy considerations, effects on dental treatment, drug images, what adult patients need to know, what pediatric patients should know, toxicology, and more.  The database also contains various types of calculators, such as ones for unit conversion and dosage. Below find a portion of a sample record for the drug, Phenoxybenzamine:

For a video tutorial on any of the databases that I mentioned, please visit our Database Tutorials page. There is a link to it on the Library’s homepage.

In health-related courses, the citation formats that are used tend to be AMA (American Medical Association) and NLM (National Library of Medicine). We have a Cite Sources guide available through a link on our homepage with tabs for AMA and NLM.

Remember that if you have questions about these resources or any others, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may contact the Trout Library by sending an email to library@harcum.edu, or you may use our chat service during the hours posted on the Library’s homepage. You may also request a Zoom session with a librarian by filling out the form available through a link on the homepage.

This week, we highlight library resources available to Fashion Design and Merchandising students. 

Fashion Design and Merchandising students at Harcum should check the Fashion Design and Merchandising Library Guide. On that guide we have a curated collection of resources to help you find articles, books, films and how-to videos. An image of the home page of the guide is found below. 

The resources on the guide are divided into Books & eBooks, Databases and Websites. Between the tabs you will find tutorial pages where you can read or watch videos on how to navigate our databases. You can also get help from a librarian at any time. Notice the library hours, contact information and a chat box are all located on the home page of the guide making help just a click away. 

The Databases tab will be especially useful if you need to find articles, industry news or statistics. Note that you will need passwords to access most databases off-campus. There is information on the page on how to located the database passwords from Harcum Hatch. 

As a Fashion or Merchandising student at Harcum you have access to a wonderful online library known as University of Fashion. It is a collection of how-to videos on a variety of disciplines in the fashion and merchandising industry. Learn techniques for draping, sewing, fashion drawing, pattern drafting, CAD pattern making, product development and fashion business. Also learn the particulars of childrenswear, menswear, knits, and very important, accessories. In addition to videos there is a collection of downloadable croquis for a variety of body types, gender and ages. The croquis zip file is found under Resources. The password for University of Fashion is found under "Library Database Password List" under Quick Links in Harcum Hatch.

Kanopy also has a good selection of fashion design films and merchandising occupation-specific videos. For a curated list of videos, see the Films & Videos - Fashion & Merchandising tab of the library guide. 

For fashion news, the library has a subscription to Women's Wear Daily. Contact the library to gain access to back issues. As a Harcum student you also have access to the New York Times. See our guide on how to set up your account.

The library subscribes to a number of databases that can provide fashion industry data, articles, company and market information. Extensive company reports can be found in Business Source Premier. You can search by company name. In the example below I searched for LVMH which is the parent company of Louis Vuitton. This example is used to demonstrate that you may have to search by the parent company name for some brands. 

The library also has access to fashion eBooks through EBSCOhost eBook Academic Collection. You can see a selection of examples on the Books & eBooks tab of the library guide. Again, the password for this database and others is found in your Harcum Hatch under Quick Links, "Library Database Password List". 

As always, contact that library if you have any questions or difficulty finding information or a resource. We are always happy to help.

Roxanne Sutton

Reference and Special Collections Librarian

rsutton@harcum.edu

610-526-6022