Trout Library Blog - Library Guides at Charles H. Trout Library

We’re excited to announce that Harcum College’s alumni magazine collection has been fully digitized and is now available online through our digital archive — free and accessible 24/7.

Spanning over 70 years, this collection traces the evolution of our alumni publications: from The Alumnae Bulletin (1950–1959), to The Harcum Junior College Bulletin (1969–1974), and Patches (1974–2024). Each issue captures a vivid snapshot of life at Harcum— stories of students, faculty, alumni, and the many milestones that have shaped our community.

Whether you’re an alum seeking a familiar name or a researcher exploring the College’s legacy, this digitized collection offers a powerful lens into Harcum’s past. While a few gaps in the collection remain, it's unclear whether these resulted from paused publication or lost issues.

We invite you to explore this resource and reconnect with decades of shared history. Visit our digital archive to browse the full collection.

**A snapshot showcasing some of the past** **Patches** **issues in our digital archive.**

Recent Posts

Is This Article Peer Reviewed?

Is This Article Peer Reviewed? Here's How to Find Out“Is this article peer reviewed?” is one of the more frequently asked questions at our library. In this blog post, we’ll answer that question and equip you with the tools to find and identify peer-reviewed articles.What Does Peer Review Mean?Peer review is the process by which an academic article is evaluated by other experts in the same field. Academic journals use this process before publishing articles to ensure they meet high standards of quality, credibility, and accuracy.However, not all academic journals are peer reviewed. That’s why some articles qualify as peer reviewed while others do not. To determine whether an article is peer reviewed, you need to find out if the journal that published it uses a peer review process.How to Tell If a Journal Is Peer ReviewedThere are two main ways to find out:1. Search the Journal's WebsiteLook up the name of the journal that published the article. Use any internet search engine to look up the journal. Find the journal’s website. Look for any mention on the website for “peer review” or “reviewed” or "refereed". Often this information is found under the “About Us” or “For Authors” sections. 2. Use a Library DatabaseAnother way is to use a database that includes and identifies peer-reviewed articles. The library offers a number of databases with peer-reviewed articles like CINAHL or Dentistry and Oral Science Source. These databases identify peer-reviewed articles with tags and filters. This takes all the guess-work out of the search. You will know with certainty if an article is from a peer-reviewed publication. Check out our Research Help library guide for a step-by-step tutorial on how to search for peer reviewed articles.Need Help?If you have questions or need further assistance, don't hesitate to reach out to us at the Charles. H. Trout Library. We are here to help! Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Explore Your Future: Career & Transfer Services Guide

If you're a new college student trying to figure out your next steps, you're not alone. Career choices, interviews, and transfer plans can feel overwhelming—but they don’t have to. Harcum College’s Office of Career & Transfer Services has launched a library guide packed with tools to help you make confident decisions about your future. Whether you're just starting to explore potential career paths or gearing up for a transfer, this site is your one-stop shop. First, let me introduce you to the Career & Transfer Services team.Introductions - The Career & Transfer Services Team Rhonda Gaines, Director, Career & Transfer ServicesLydia Izzo, Advisor, Career & Transfer ServicesNow let's look at the features of the Career & Transfer Services guide. Career Exploration ToolsNot sure what you want to do after college? That’s completely normal. The guide's career exploration section features interactive quizzes designed to help you uncover your areas of interests and skills. Based on your results, you’ll get suggestions for career options that align with who you are—giving you a clearer starting point for research and planning. Helpful tip: Take the quizzes and save the results. Then schedule a meeting with a Career & Transfer team member to go over your results and discuss next steps. Interview PreparationLanding an interview is a big step—but what comes next? The interview preparation section of the guide walks you through researching potential employers so you go in informed and confident. It also provides access to expert advice on how to answer common interview questions effectively. Whether you’re prepping for a casual phone interview or a high-stakes panel, this resource gives you practical strategies to help you shine. Helpful tip: Schedule a mock-interview with the Career & Transfer team to hone your interview skills before your next big interview. College Transfer PlanningThinking about transferring to another school? The college research tab lays out a smart approach to identifying schools that fit your goals. You'll find guidance on comparing programs and planning your next academic step. Helpful tip: Use the guide to identify a few schools you'd like to transfer to then schedule a meeting with a Career & Transfer team member to discuss your options and the transfer process. Need Help? Reach OutHave questions or want personalized advice? The website also includes contact information for Harcum’s Career & Transfer Services team. Whether you want to schedule an appointment or just ask a quick question, they’re ready to support you every step of the way. You can also contact the Career & Transfer Services team from within College Central Network which is found in your Harcum Hatch. Look for the College Central Network logo in your Harcum Hatch to connect with Career & Transfer Services at Harcum College. Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Harcum Hatch & Google Basics

Starting college can feel overwhelming. The library has your back. If you are new to Harcum or new to Google Suite, check out our bite-sized video tutorials designed to help you get started. You will learn how to:Navigate Harcum Hatch Use Google Suite tools efficientlyCommunicate confidently with professors.All videos are under four minutes, with some YouTube Shorts that cover the basics in less than two minutes.Whether you’re new to Harcum College or settling in with your laptop, these short videos are here to make your first steps at Harcum smooth and stress-free.Be sure to reach out with any questions.To faculty, please share this post with students widely. All five videos can be viewed on the College Resources library guide. https://harcum.libguides.com/collegeresources Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Library vs Google/ChatGPT

Why Use the Library’s Website When You Have Google and ChatGPT?It’s a common question. When answers are just a search bar away, why bother with the library’s website? The truth is, each tool has its strengths. Understanding how and when to use them can save you time, boost the quality of your research, and impress your instructors.Google and ChatGPT: Fast, Broad, and ConvenientSearch engines like Google are great for getting a quick overview of a topic, looking up definitions, or finding images. AI tools like ChatGPT can summarize information and help you brainstorm ideas or organize your thoughts. They're fast and easy, but they also come with a few limitations. The sources aren’t always clear, the quality varies, and you may encounter misinformation or content that hasn’t been peer-reviewed. Let's be honest, AI tools often just make up answers, a known problem called “hallucination”. That's why anything you find on Google or ChatGPT should be carefully evaluated for accuracy. Read our LibGuide on how to evaluate sources for more information or a quick refresher. The Library’s Website: A Curated Path to Reliable KnowledgeYour library’s website isn’t just a list of books. It’s a portal to high-quality academic resources, peer-reviewed journal articles, eBooks, databases, and specialized tools your instructors actually want you to use. Many of these are behind paywalls, but Harcum College provides access at no cost to you. Google and ChatGPT cannot access information that is behind paywalls. This means that the information you have access to through your library is not available to through Google and ChatGPT. Plus, library resources come with built-in credibility. When you're writing a paper or preparing a presentation, being able to cite trustworthy, scholarly sources gives your work the weight it needs.Why Not Use Both?Savvy researchers blend both worlds. You might start with Google or ChatGPT to get your bearings, then turn to the library’s site to dig deeper. Need Help Getting Started?Librarians are here to help! Whether you're not sure which database to use, how to cite your sources, or just want help refining your topic, don’t hesitate to reach out. We love questions, especially yours! Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Alumni Magazines