Trout Library Blog - Library Guides at Charles H. Trout Library

With the end of the semester here and some of you moving on to the next stage in your life, books on career development might be of interest at this time. There are many options available through our EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection database.

(Please note that there is maintenance scheduled on the EBSCO eBooks database from May 5 through May 12 and that some content might not be available at times during this period.)

Find the link to EBSCO eBooks on the A-Z Databases page as well as under the Databases tabs in the various Library Guides. If you are off campus, then you will need to retrieve the username and password for the EBSCO databases in the Library Database Password List under Quicklinks in Harcum Hatch.

After you enter the database, search using the key terms “vocational guidance” or “job hunting” and limit these terms to the subject field using the drop-down menus to the right of the search boxes.

Searching: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost): Choose Databases (hyperlink); Beneath: Vocational guidance in first box, SU Subject in drop-down menu to the right; Below: OR in drop-down menu on left, job hunting in search box, SU Subject in drop-down menu to the right; Below: Empty search box."

You should also filter the content to more recent publications using the date limiter:

Limit To at top; Below: Full Text with white checkmark in small blue box to the left, Download available with white checkmark in small blue box to the left; Below: From (2010 in box below) To (2019 in box below), Publication Date in middle and sliding bar beneath.

This search yields many good results. Some provide general guidance, such as Reinvention Roadmap: Break the Rules to Get the Job You Want and Career You Deserve, by Liz Ryan.

Reinvention Roadmap by Liz Ryan

Publication Date: 2016

Others provide guidance to people pursuing various fields, such as healthcare, social work and education. The book, Expert Resumes for Health Care Careers, by Wendy Enelow and Louise Kursmark, might be of particular interest to Harcum students in the Allied Health programs.

Expert Resumes for Health Care Careers Cover Art

Expert Resumes for Health Care Careers by Wendy S. Enelow; Louise M. Kursmark

Publication Date: 2010

The Occupational Outlook Handbook, a publication of the United States Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides information about the nature of work in different occupations as well as necessary education and training, salary expectations, working conditions, and the employment outlook in those fields. This item is a government publication and therefore open to the general public.

Occupational Outlook Handbook by Bureau of Labor Statistics (Editor)

Publication Date: 2021

For more career development information, please visit Harcum’s Career & Transfer website.

Bill Fanshel

Evening/Weekend Librarian

wfanshel@harcum.edu

610-229-9311

Recent Posts

Refreshing the Trout Library Website

Over the past month, the Trout Library website at Harcum College underwent a redesign. Like many library websites, it has grown over time with new content and updates added to meet changing needs. While the site contained valuable information, the organization and structure no longer aligned with how users were interacting with it.Although functional, the website benefited from a refreshed approach—one that would make tasks easier and create a more intuitive user experience.The website is built on LibGuides, a platform widely used by academic libraries. While LibGuides has some design constraints, it offers enough flexibility to make necessary improvements. The goal was not a complete overhaul, but rather to implement practical adjustments that would enhance navigation and better highlight key resources.The homepage was the primary focus. As the site grew, it became overwhelmed with information, so the layout was streamlined by organizing content into clear sections: Library Services, Ask a Librarian, and Request Forms. Emphasis was placed on the resources most frequently used by students and faculty, such as the catalog, databases, and library guides.Accessibility was a key consideration. Updates to the website were made to improve its mobile responsiveness and overall usability. While there is always room for further improvement, these changes aimed to create a more user-friendly experience.Throughout the redesign, essential feedback from library staff, students, and faculty was gathered and incorporated into the process. Their insights helped shape decisions, ensuring the website better serves the needs of the Harcum community. The focus was on building a website that supports users in their research, rather than just emphasizing visual web design elements.The library website will continue to evolve with ongoing updates based on user feedback. This recent redesign represents a step toward making the library’s online presence more user-friendly, accessible, and aligned with how students and faculty engage with library resources. The updated website can be viewed here: https://harcum.libguides.com/troutlibrary ...

Unveiling Harcum’s Hidden History Through Advertisements

Imagine stumbling across a century-old advertisement that sheds light on the remarkable women who shaped Harcum College. This thrilling discovery recently unfolded at the Charles H. Trout Library, where the archives gained three original advertisements. ...

A Familiar Face

The bust of Dr. Charles Wharton Stork has been a permanent fixture in the Library since 1984. But why is is there? He was a prolific author and taught at Harcum. He also survived a sinking ship. We look at archival material to tell us more. ...

Elizabeth "Libbie" Hall Willis, Harcum School Principal, 1921-1929

Recently, I was asked for records from our archive relating to Elizabeth "Libbie" Hall Wilis. What we found was a new piece of Harcum College history I think is worth documenting.Willis was the Head of the Academic Department and Prinicpal from approximately 1921 to 1929 and later an advisor to Edith Harcum until approximately 1934. Elizabeth Hall Willis, who went by Libbie, obtained a degree in painting from Syracuse University. Before coming to the Harcum School, she had a career as an art teacher at the University of Arkansas and at Chatham Hall. It was while teaching art at Chatham Hall she met a student, Georgia O'Keefe. You can read about this encounter and the on-going professional relationship between Willis and O'Keefe in Linda Grasso's book Equal under the Sky: Georgia O'Keefe & Twentieth Century Feminism. Equal under the Sky by Linda M. GrassoCall Number: 759.13 .G769 2019ISBN: 9780826360731Publication Date: 2019See pages 107-115Willis came to the Harcum School to lead the academics and college preparation program. Her title in 1921 was “Head of the Academic Department” but it was later changed to Principal. Throughout her time at Harcum, she was mentioned in the yearbook, Purple Patches, especially in association with her work with college preparation studies. In the "Class Will" in 1922 the students express fond appreciation and love for her. The 1923 yearbook was dedicated to Mrs. Willis. This is quite a show of support by the student body. Her portrait finally appears in the 1929 yearbook. She left Harcum School after 1929, although she was mentioned as an advisor in the 1934 academic calendar, perhaps she stayed in touch to advise Edith Harcum. The biggest surprise of all is that we found her on video. In those years, Edith Harcum’s son Bill Harcum was given a silent film camera and he took silent moving images around the school. The films were digitized and Bill Harcum gave commentary on the films. You can see Elizabeth Willis briefly at 0:12 seconds, right at the beginning of the film. Bill Harcum mentions Mrs. Willis by name and calls her the head mistress. Libbie Hall Willis had a interesting life as an artist and academic before and after her time at Harcum College. Harcum is fortunate to be able to claim her as one of our own. Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Career Development eBooks