Veterinary Nursing: Books & eBooks

Covers the diverse and dynamic research being undertaken in a variety of different species throughout the world. Highlights research ranging from the cardiovascular and musculoskeletal systems, prostate and hoof, through to histopathology, imaging, and molecular techniques. Investigates both healthy and pathological conditions at differing stages of life. The importance of each cell and tissue through to the whole organism is explored alongside the methodologies used to understand these vital structures and functions.

Covers topics such as antimicrobial usage and resistance in dairy cattle production, canine duodenal disorders, canine babesiosis, ascites in pets, pericardial effusion in dogs, and more.

Explores how evolution has shaped the distinctive characteristics and behaviors we observe in birds today. Douglas Futuyma describes how evolutionary science illuminates the wonders of birds, ranging over topics such as the meaning and origin of species, the evolutionary history of bird diversity, and the evolution of avian reproductive behaviors, plumage ornaments, and social behaviors.

This handbook presents a much-needed and comprehensive exploration of the rapidly growing fields of animal welfare and law.

Contains over 5,000 terms (illustrated by 88 figures) used in zoos, aquariums, safari parks, birds of prey centers, petting zoos, animal rescue centers and other facilities that make up the "zoo industry," covering a wide range of topics including animal behavior, animal husbandry, animal welfare, ecology, law, taxonomy, classification, nutrition, parasitology, physiology, reproduction, experimental design, statistics, veterinary science, disease, visitor studies, water management, wildlife conservation, and zoo design and architecture.

A Wilder Kingdom is a provocative and reflective examination of the relationship between zoos and the wild. The contributors offer new insights into the future of the wild beyond zoos and our relationship to wild species.

This interdisciplinary volume covers zoos and aquariums. It brings together research on animal behavior, visitor studies, zoo history, human-animal relationships, veterinary medicine, welfare, education, enclosure design, reproduction, legislation, and zoo management conducted at around 200 institutions located throughout the world.

This full color atlas of veterinary histology images with accompanying text covers domestic mammals and birds. It provides a peerless collection of diagrams, schematics, color micrographs, and electron microscope images.

Veterinary parasitology is the study of animal parasites, especially relationships between parasites and animal hosts, and their interactions. Parasites of domestic animals (livestock and pet animals) as well as wildlife animals are considered. Veterinary parasitology studies genesis and development of parasitoses in animal host. Veterinary parasitology also studies taxonomy and systematics of parasites, morphology, life cycles, and living needs of parasites in environment and in animal host. Diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal parasitoses are designed using procured observations.