Library Guides: Veterinary Nursing: Research an Animal Assignment

Library resources for reliable animal information: a guide for students

This guide was designed to help veterinary nursing and animal center management majors find reliable and accurate information about animals for their research assignments. In today's information-rich world, separating reliable sources from inaccurate ones can be challenging. This is especially true if your search is conducted only on internet search engines like Google or through AI. This guide provides a curated selection of library resources, including websites, books, and databases, to help you find accurate information. This guide is designed to make your research process smoother and more efficient.

Research is an exploration, and the path to information can sometimes feel difficult or lead to unexpected detours. These moments can be challenging, and it's important to remember that these feelings are valid. The library is a safe space where guidance and support can be sought without judgment. If struggling to locate the needed information, reach out to a librarian. Librarians are available to help navigate resources and provide the assistance needed to succeed. Contact information is easily accessible on the welcome page of this guide.

Reliable sources of Animal information - CREDO Reference eBooks

CREDO Reference
CREDO Reference provides access to a comprehensive collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works across a wide range of subjects, including art, history, literature, music, religion, and science.

Animals: A Visual Encyclopedia
Call Number: eBook

Authoritative yet accessible, Animals catalogs everything from aardvarks to zebras with special focus on the superlatives that appeal to children: biggest, fastest, strongest, and strangest. Stunning action photography puts our animal neighbors in context and shows them in their natural habitats, interacting with other animals and taking part in amazing migrations, feeding frenzies, and more.
Black's Veterinary Dictionary
Call Number: eBook

Black's Veterinary Dictionary has been a bestseller for over seventy years. It is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals.

Animal Research

Use a library database to find background information that is accurate and authoritative. CREDO Reference is a database of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and eBooks. It is a fantastic source of authoritative and reliable information on animals, their natural environment, and conservation.

CREDO Reference includes a built-in citation generator. Look for the citation under the CITE button at the top of each article.

If you need help, reach out!

Print Books at theTrout Library

EBSCO Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service provides a single search interface to explore a wide range of research databases, including full-text journal articles, eBooks, and videos.

How Birds Evolve by Douglas J. Futuyma
Call Number: 598 .F996 2024

Explores how evolution has shaped the distinctive characteristics and behaviors we observe in birds today. Douglas Futuyma describes how evolutionary science illuminates the wonders of birds, ranging over topics such as the meaning and origin of species, the evolutionary history of bird diversity, and the evolution of avian reproductive behaviors, plumage ornaments, and social behaviors.
Routledge Handbook of Animal Welfare by Andrew Knight (Editor); Clive Phillips (Editor); Paula Sparks (Editor)
Call Number: 636.0832 .R689 2023

This handbook presents a much-needed and comprehensive exploration of the rapidly growing fields of animal welfare and law.
Students' Dictionary of Zoo and Aquarium Studies by Paul A. Rees
Call Number: REF 590.73 .R328S 2023

Contains over 5,000 terms (illustrated by 88 figures) used in zoos, aquariums, safari parks, birds of prey centers, petting zoos, animal rescue centers and other facilities that make up the "zoo industry," covering a wide range of topics including animal behavior, animal husbandry, animal welfare, ecology, law, taxonomy, classification, nutrition, parasitology, physiology, reproduction, experimental design, statistics, veterinary science, disease, visitor studies, water management, wildlife conservation, and zoo design and architecture.
A Wilder Kingdom by Ben A. Minteer (Editor); Harry Greene (Editor)
Call Number: 590.73 .W673 2023

A Wilder Kingdom is a provocative and reflective examination of the relationship between zoos and the wild. The contributors offer new insights into the future of the wild beyond zoos and our relationship to wild species.
Zoo Studies by Paul A. Rees
Call Number: 590.73 .R328 2023

This interdisciplinary volume covers zoos and aquariums. It brings together research on animal behavior, visitor studies, zoo history, human-animal relationships, veterinary medicine, welfare, education, enclosure design, reproduction, legislation, and zoo management conducted at around 200 institutions located throughout the world.