Trout Library Blog

In 2005, the UN designated January 27, the anniversary of the liberation of the Auschwitz concentration camp, as International Holocaust Remembrance Day. However, Holocaust Remembrance Day on the Jewish calendar, known as Yom HaShoah, occurs five days after the end of Passover, which this year falls on April 28. To mark this day, we have created a book display containing Holocaust narratives and histories from Trout Library's extensive Holocaust collection. The display can be found on the slatwall just inside the Library entrance. In addition, we invite you to take a look at my Holocaust library guide, which offers links to relevant websites, databases, books, eBooks, videos, and more.

The Holocaust was a seminal event in history that never should be forgotten. With the passing of over 75 years and Holocaust survivors leaving our midst, it is more important than ever to remember the history and tell their stories. Most people have some knowledge of the Holocaust, but reading survivor narratives can provide an emotional connection to the event and a stark reminder of what can happen when hatred, demonization, dehumanization, and division go unchecked. In the case of the Holocaust, these elements were weaponized by a charismatic leader who, with the help of a propaganda machine that ingrained untruths into society, led a significant portion of the populace to commit unspeakable atrocities or stand by in silence. Reading Holocaust literature is one step that we can take to ensure that nothing akin to the Holocaust ever happens again -- to the Jewish people or to any other group. Holocaust narratives are also stories of strength and resilience that can provide perspective and inspiration for our lives today. Although not a Holocaust survivor, my grandmother survived the Ukraine pogroms of 1918-1919, often thought of as a prelude to the Holocaust. Her stories, which I have documented, have always shaped how I see the world.

I would like to recommend the following three narratives from our display:

A Holocaust Memoir of Love & Resilience: Mama's Survival from Lithuania to America by Ettie Zilber

Call Number: NAR 940.5318092 .Z69 2019

ISBN: 9789493056022

In the first section of the book, Zilber presents a lightly edited transcript of a recorded conversation with her mother, a Holocaust survivor from Lithuania who spent time in the Stutthof concentration camp and subsequently underwent a death march. Following the account, the author describes a trip that she took in which she attempted to retrace her mother's footsteps in Lithuania and Poland. In the book's final part, Zilber reflects on what it was like to grow up as a child of Holocaust survivors and how it shaped her. She encourages all people, regardless of background or ethnicity, to explore their family history to get a full sense of their own identity.

My Silent Pledge by Sidney J. Zoltak

Call Number: 940.5318092.Z86 2013

ISBN: 9781550718072

The author was born in Siemaitcyze, Poland in 1931 and went through the Holocaust as a child. His narrative covers his life before World War II, the Soviet occupation of his town followed by the German occupation, being driven from his home and forced into a ghetto, the liquidation of the ghetto and his escape, the long time that he spent hiding with his family on a farm, liberation by the Soviet army, life as a displaced person in Italy after finding that his homeland was still unsafe for Jews, and his life as a Holocaust survivor in Canada after emigrating.

Night by Elie Wiesel

Call Number: NAR 940.5318 .W651Y 2006

ISBN: 0374500010

The terrifying record of Elie Wiesel's memories of the death of his family, the death of his own innocence, and his despair as a deeply observant Jew confronting the absolute evil of man.

 

 

 

Remember that if you have questions about these resources or any others, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may visit the Library during the hours posted on the Library's homepage, email us at library@harcum.edu, use our chat service, or call us at 610-526-6085.

With Earth Day coming up on April 22, we invite you to peruse my Climate Change, Energy & Sustainability library guide and also have a look at my book display on the slatwall just inside the Library entrance.

The guide contains tabs for relevant websites, databases, videos and podcasts, books, articles, reports, and more. The website tab is broken down into the following categories: Climate Change Research & Data, Climate Change News, Weather, and Sustainability & Renewable Energy. For those of you, like me, who are interested in the weather, links to the National Weather Service and Weather Underground will provide you with a large amount of current and historical data. You may search both websites by location. The National Weather Service provides official data, whereas Weather Underground features data mostly from amateur weather stations. Both are good primary sources in the field. Click on the National Weather Service -- Rainfall Monitoring link to see precipitation totals for various time intervals recorded at different professional and amateur stations throughout the Philadelphia region. If you scroll down to Delaware County, sometimes you will see a measurement listed for Bryn Mawr. That one is mine.

A link found under Climate Change Research and Data is World Weather Attribution. It features studies in attribution science, which examines the extent to which climate change is responsible for individual weather events. A recent New York Times article, which is listed under the Articles tab, reports that through attribution science it has been concluded that the 2020 Atlantic hurricane season was wetter than it would have been absent climate change. To read the article, sign in using your Harcum New York Times account.

My book display contains classic books on the environment such as Rachel Carson's Silent Spring and Al Gore's Earth in the Balance. I also would like to recommend the following three books that can be found in the display as well as under the Books tab in the library guide:

Enviromedics: The Impact of Climate Change on Human Health by Jay Lemery; Paul Auerbach

Call Number: 613.1 .L552 2017

ISBN: 9781442243187

Written by physicians, this book clarifies the science, dispels the myths, and help readers understand the threats of climate change to human health.

 

 

 

Sustainability Made Simple by Rosaly Byrd; Laurèn DeMates

Call Number: 338.927 .B995 2019

ISBN: 9781442269095

An introduction to sustainability and sustainable living that explores the relationship between everyday life and the intricate global environmental issues of today, including air and water pollution, deforestation, and climate change. Provides new and relatively easy ways to incorporate sustainability into daily life.

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know by Joseph Romm

Call Number: 363.73874 .R766 2018

ISBN: 9780190866105

 

 

 

 

The third book provides an overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. It is easy to read and broken down into the following seven chapters: Climate Science Basics, Extreme Weather and Climate Change, Projected Climate Impacts, Avoiding the Worst Impacts, Climate Politics and Policies, The Role of Clean Energy, and Climate Change and You. Each chapter features numerous questions on the topic that the author answers in a detailed yet understandable way. Even though I already had knowledge of the topic, I learned a great deal by reading this book. 

Remember that if you have questions about these resources or any others, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may visit the Library during the hours posted on the Library's homepage, email us at library@harcum.edu, use our chat service, or call us at 610-526-6085.