Trout Library Blog - Library Guides at Charles H. Trout Library

Concepts in science and mathematics are relevant to many of the programs at Harcum. Whether you need to study these subjects for your coursework or they simply pique your interest, you should check out my Science & Math Library Guide. Find it by clicking on Library Guides on the Library’s homepage and then choosing Science & Math in the Center for Allied Health Science section under Programs.

In the guide, you will find a tab for Books & eBooks, which will provide you with print books that we have in the collection as well as ways to access eBooks. The Databases tab lists databases that will lead you to full-text articles in these fields. If you need help searching the databases, check out the tutorials found under the Database Tutorials tab.

Science & Math: Home; Tabs beneath in first row: Home (highlighted), Books & eBooks, Databases, Database Tutorials, Websites & Tutorials, Science News Feeds, Kanopy, Podcasts; Tabs in second row: Open Educational Texts & Course Materials, PowerPoint & Google Slides Tips; Cite Sources.

The Science & Math Guide contains a tab for News Feeds, which includes those for ScienceDaily and Nature Journal. The items on this page are automatically refreshed on a daily basis, so check frequently for science news updates. Find course materials, including open access textbooks, under the Open Education Texts and Course Materials tab. The texts included under this tab will not necessarily be the ones used at Harcum, but they still might be helpful as a supplement.

The Websites & Tutorials tab features a multitude of resources. In the box on Biology, you will find links relevant to basic biology, cell biology, and human biology. The Chemistry box features links dealing with basic chemistry, environmental science, material data safety sheets, and the periodic table. There is a box devoted to Science News, which contains links to sources such as ScienceDaily, ScienceNews, Sciworthy, RealClear Science, and Nature.com. If you are having difficulty with math concepts, be sure to check out the links in the Math Tutorials box, which will provide assistance and practice problems for levels of math ranging from arithmetic to pre-calculus. There is even a link to a site that will help nursing students with dosage calculations as well as one that will help business students with financial calculations. You will also find a box that concentrates on the very important topic of climate change. This topic now might be of particular interest as Earth Day is coming up on April 22. The box contains links to climate change research and data, climate change news, weather information, as well as sites dealing with sustainability and renewable energy.

We also have a separate guide on Climate Change, Energy & Sustainability. Along with the resources mentioned above, this guide contains tabs for Useful Articles, Useful Reports, Videos & Podcasts, and Twitter & Apps. Find a link to the Climate Change, Energy & Sustainability guide on our Library Guides page in the General Topics box. A link is also provided in the April 2021 Highlights box.

In purple bar across top: General Topics; Beneath: Special Topics; Bullet point list beneath: 9/11, Anti-Racism Resources; Climate Change, Energy & Sustainability (encircled in red); Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources, Domestic Violence & Child Abuse, Entrepreneurship, Holocaust; News, Politics & Current Events; Staff Recommendations.

If you have any questions about these resources or any others, please don’t hesitate to contact us in the Library. We would be glad to help you. You may reach us by email at library@harcum.edu or by using the chat box on the Library’s homepage during the posted hours.

Bill Fanshel

Evening/Weekend Librarian

wfanshel@harcum.edu

610-229-9311

Recent Posts

Unveiling Harcum’s Hidden History Through Advertisements

Imagine stumbling across a century-old advertisement that sheds light on the remarkable women who shaped Harcum College. This thrilling discovery recently unfolded at the Charles H. Trout Library, where the archives gained three original advertisements. ...

A Familiar Face

The bust of Dr. Charles Wharton Stork has been a permanent fixture in the Library since 1984. But why is is there? He was a prolific author and taught at Harcum. He also survived a sinking ship. We look at archival material to tell us more. ...

Elizabeth "Libbie" Hall Willis, Harcum School Principal, 1921-1929

Recently, I was asked for records from our archive relating to Elizabeth "Libbie" Hall Wilis. What we found was a new piece of Harcum College history I think is worth documenting.Willis was the Head of the Academic Department and Prinicpal from approximately 1921 to 1929 and later an advisor to Edith Harcum until approximately 1934. Elizabeth Hall Willis, who went by Libbie, obtained a degree in painting from Syracuse University. Before coming to the Harcum School, she had a career as an art teacher at the University of Arkansas and at Chatham Hall. It was while teaching art at Chatham Hall she met a student, Georgia O'Keefe. You can read about this encounter and the on-going professional relationship between Willis and O'Keefe in Linda Grasso's book Equal under the Sky: Georgia O'Keefe & Twentieth Century Feminism. Equal under the Sky by Linda M. GrassoCall Number: 759.13 .G769 2019ISBN: 9780826360731Publication Date: 2019See pages 107-115Willis came to the Harcum School to lead the academics and college preparation program. Her title in 1921 was “Head of the Academic Department” but it was later changed to Principal. Throughout her time at Harcum, she was mentioned in the yearbook, Purple Patches, especially in association with her work with college preparation studies. In the "Class Will" in 1922 the students express fond appreciation and love for her. The 1923 yearbook was dedicated to Mrs. Willis. This is quite a show of support by the student body. Her portrait finally appears in the 1929 yearbook. She left Harcum School after 1929, although she was mentioned as an advisor in the 1934 academic calendar, perhaps she stayed in touch to advise Edith Harcum. The biggest surprise of all is that we found her on video. In those years, Edith Harcum’s son Bill Harcum was given a silent film camera and he took silent moving images around the school. The films were digitized and Bill Harcum gave commentary on the films. You can see Elizabeth Willis briefly at 0:12 seconds, right at the beginning of the film. Bill Harcum mentions Mrs. Willis by name and calls her the head mistress. Libbie Hall Willis had a interesting life as an artist and academic before and after her time at Harcum College. Harcum is fortunate to be able to claim her as one of our own. Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Election 2023

Election Day is Tuesday, November 7. Polls are open in Pennsylvania from 7am until 8pm. Although 2023 is not a federal election year, there are still many important judicial and municipal races on the ballot. If you live in Philadelphia, for example, you will be electing a mayor. The right to vote is sacred, and we encourage everyone to exercise it. While off-year elections do not receive the same level of attention as presidential races, the outcome of elections for local offices and judgeships also can have a significant impact on your life -- sometimes a greater impact than higher-level offices. In addition, your vote is more likely to make a difference in municipal races since the constituency is smaller and races therefore can be decided by a handful of votes. Note as well that people who occupy local elected positions sometimes will run for higher office at a later date. So there are many reasons to go to the polls and vote! The race at the top of the Pennsylvania ballot is for a vacant seat on the seven-member state Supreme Court. Click the hyperlinks below for information about the candidates: Daniel McCaffery (Democrat) Carolyn Tornetta Carluccio (Republican) A good site to use for election information is Vote 411 from the League of Women Voters. It provides links that will allow you to verify your voter registration and to create a sample ballot for your precinct. The most efficient way to use the site is to enter your home address (the address at which you are registered to vote) into the box where you are given the opportunity to create "Personalized Voting Information." Click the Submit button, and you will see a list of the races on the ballot in your precinct. Click on individual races to see the candidates, information about them, and links to their websites. In some cases, appearing here are answers to interview questions that the candidates have submitted. Scroll down further to find the address of your polling place along with a map to help you locate where it is. In addition to the source mentioned above, you can also find your polling location on the site of the Pennsylvania Department of State. Ballotpedia, an online encyclopedia of American politics, is another good source for finding candidate information. The site also allows you to generate a sample ballot for your precinct by entering your home address. Students living on campus may register to vote either at their campus address or their home address. For students who are registered at their campus address, type Harcum's address (750 Montgomery Avenue, Bryn Mawr, PA, 19010) into either Vote 411 or Ballotpedia to see the races on the ballot in Harcum's precinct. The polling place for Harcum's precinct is: First Presbyterian Church of Ardmore 5 West Montgomery Avenue Ardmore, PA 19003 To keep up with the latest news related to the election, remember to consult the extensive number of sources that I have included in my News, Politics, & Current Events library guide. Bill Fanshel Evening/Weekend Librarian wfanshel@harcum.edu 610-229-9311 ...

Science and Math Resources