Trout Library Blog - Library Guides at Charles H. Trout Library

As April is National Autism Awareness Month, I would like to detail some of the resources that Trout Library has to offer on the topic. I have created an Autism library guide, the link to which can be found by clicking on Research Guides on the Library's homepage and then selecting Special Topics. The guide contains a tab that lists autism related websites, such as the Autism Society and Autism Speaks as well as information about the condition from organizations such as the CDC and the WHO. A video tab will lead you to Kanopy films, Ted Talks, and a number of useful YouTube videos. Other tabs in the guide provide you with articles on the topic, print books in our collection, eBooks from EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection, open access books, and podcasts.

I have also put together a book display, which is located on the slatwall just inside the Library entrance. The following are some books on the display, which are available to be checked out:

Right from the Start: A Practical Guide for Helping Young Children with Autism by Karin Donahue; Kate Crassons

Call Number: 371.94 .D674 2020

Describes practical strategies to help autistic children manage their emotions and behavior, learn social and play skills, and cope with challenging sensory experiences.

A Parent's Guide to High-Functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder : How to Meet the Challenges and Help Your Child Thrive by Sally Ozonoff; Geraldine Dawson; James C. McPartland

Call Number: 618.92858832 .O999 2015

Containing real-life stories and everyday problem-solving ideas, provides parents the facts that they need about high-functioning autism spectrum disorder, including Asperger syndrome.

Rethinking Autism: Variation and Complexity by Lynn Waterhouse

Call Number: 618.928 .W292 2013

Reviews the scientific research on causes, symptomology, course, and treatment of autism spectrum disorder and draws the conclusion that "autism" does not exist as a single disorder.

Neurotribes: the Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity by Steve Silberman

Call Number: 616.9 .S582 2016

Considers the idea that neurological differences such as autism, dyslexia, and ADHD are not errors of nature or products of the toxic modern world, but the result of natural variations in the human genome.

Rex: a Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives by Cathleen Lewis

Call Number: 618.928 .L673Y 2008

The inspiring story of Rex, a boy who is not only blind and autistic, but who also happens to be a musical savant.

Emergence: Labeled Autistic by Temple Grandin; Margaret M. Scariano

Call Number: NAR 618.928 .G753EY 2005

The first-hand account of a courageous autistic woman who beat the odds and cured herself.

Thinking in Pictures: and Other Reports from My Life with Autism by Temple Grandin

Call Number: 616.85882 .G753YT 1995

Temple Grandin's personal account of living with autism and her extraordinary gift of animal empathy.

Remember that if you have questions about these resources or any others, please don’t hesitate to ask us. You may visit the Library in person during the hours listed on the homepage, email us at library@harcum.edu, use our chat service when it is available, or call us at 610-526-6085.

Recent Posts

The Bryn Mawr Substation

Eagle-eyed observers around campus may have noticed recent construction activity at the Bryn Mawr Substation. This work, undertaken by Amtrak, is more than just a facelift; it's part of a significant three-year project to upgrade the train line stretching from the Philadelphia Zoo to Paoli. Interestingly, this isn't the first major transformation for the Bryn Mawr Substation, a structure which has been a backdrop to our community, intertwined with the story of Harcum College.Built in 1915, the same year Harcum College first opened its doors in Melville Hall, the Bryn Mawr Substation stands as a silent witness to the college's growth. Constructed by the Pennsylvania Railroad as part of the electrification of their line, the substation's early construction would have coincided with Harcum's initial upgrades to Melville Hall, marking the beginning of a shared history within the Bryn Mawr landscape.While the Bryn Mawr Substation has become an unassuming part of the local scenery, the Harcum College Archive Collection offers glimpses into its past. The few photographs featuring the substation often capture it in the background.The earliest visual record of the substation in the Harcum College Archive appears in a photograph of Bedford Hall. Although undated, we know this image cannot predate 1947, the year Harcum acquired the building. Even in the background of this image, the Bryn Mawr Substation is visible, its structure remarkably similar to its present-day form, offering a tangible link between the college's mid-20th century and today. Decades later, in 1974, the Bryn Mawr Substation made another appearance in Harcum's history, captured in two photographs within The Harlequin, the college yearbook. These images, documenting the dedication of Harcum's new tennis courts, feature the substation in the distance. Local sportscaster Joe Pellegrino joined students for a game, watched by two hundred members of the Harcum community. The steadfast presence of the substation in the backdrop underscores its enduring place within the college's physical environment.The Bryn Mawr Substation forms the backdrop to a tennis match, The Harlequin, 1974.Two hundred members of the College community watched a tennis match on the new courts. The Bryn Mawr Substation is visible in the background, The Harlequin, 1974.Local sportscaster, Joe Pellegrino stands among Harcum College tennis players at the opening ceremony of the new tennis courts, The Harlequin, 1974Though the familiar presence of the Bryn Mawr Substation will be missed, its legacy remains embedded in the visual and historical fabric of the campus. The arrival of the new substation signals progress, a continuation of the ever-evolving relationship between the college and the infrastructure surrounding it. Just as Harcum has grown and changed over the years, so too will this space, shaping the future while carrying echoes of the past. Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Unveiling Harcum’s Hidden History through Advertisements

Imagine stumbling across a century-old advertisement that sheds light on the remarkable women who shaped Harcum College. This thrilling discovery recently unfolded at the Charles H. Trout Library, where the archives gained three original advertisements. ...

A Familiar Face

The bust of Dr. Charles Wharton Stork has been a permanent fixture in the Library since 1984. But why is is there? He was a prolific author and taught at Harcum. He also survived a sinking ship. We look at archival material to tell us more. ...

Elizabeth "Libbie" Hall Willis, Harcum School Principal, 1921-1929

Recently, I was asked for records from our archive relating to Elizabeth "Libbie" Hall Wilis. What we found was a new piece of Harcum College history I think is worth documenting.Willis was the Head of the Academic Department and Prinicpal from approximately 1921 to 1929 and later an advisor to Edith Harcum until approximately 1934. Elizabeth Hall Willis, who went by Libbie, obtained a degree in painting from Syracuse University. Before coming to the Harcum School, she had a career as an art teacher at the University of Arkansas and at Chatham Hall. It was while teaching art at Chatham Hall she met a student, Georgia O'Keefe. You can read about this encounter and the on-going professional relationship between Willis and O'Keefe in Linda Grasso's book Equal under the Sky: Georgia O'Keefe & Twentieth Century Feminism. Equal under the Sky by Linda M. GrassoCall Number: 759.13 .G769 2019ISBN: 9780826360731Publication Date: 2019See pages 107-115Willis came to the Harcum School to lead the academics and college preparation program. Her title in 1921 was “Head of the Academic Department” but it was later changed to Principal. Throughout her time at Harcum, she was mentioned in the yearbook, Purple Patches, especially in association with her work with college preparation studies. In the "Class Will" in 1922 the students express fond appreciation and love for her. The 1923 yearbook was dedicated to Mrs. Willis. This is quite a show of support by the student body. Her portrait finally appears in the 1929 yearbook. She left Harcum School after 1929, although she was mentioned as an advisor in the 1934 academic calendar, perhaps she stayed in touch to advise Edith Harcum. The biggest surprise of all is that we found her on video. In those years, Edith Harcum’s son Bill Harcum was given a silent film camera and he took silent moving images around the school. The films were digitized and Bill Harcum gave commentary on the films. You can see Elizabeth Willis briefly at 0:12 seconds, right at the beginning of the film. Bill Harcum mentions Mrs. Willis by name and calls her the head mistress. Libbie Hall Willis had a interesting life as an artist and academic before and after her time at Harcum College. Harcum is fortunate to be able to claim her as one of our own. Roxanne Sutton Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 rsutton@harcum.edu ...

Autism Awareness Month Resources