Harcum College, “Unidentified students processing down Montgomery Avenue, Bryn Mawr (no date),” Trout Library's Digital Archives & Special Collections, accessed October 6, 2020, https://harcumarchives.omeka.net/items/show/268.
This time of year between Founder's Day and Homecoming we tend to turn our minds to the College's past. This week we bring our attention to the digital archive collection. The digital archive contains digitized photographs, documents, and physical items found in the archive collection at the Charles H. Trout Library. The digital archive is open and available for all to see at any time.
If you are curious about Harcum College history there are a few digital exhibits currently on the digital archive. The first is a newly digitized student newspaper called The Harcum Herald. The Harcum Herald was a student run newspaper published between 1979 and 2003. It published three to four times a year between September and May. It is an interesting look at campus life over that period of 24 years. Student journalists reported on topics important to them. The topics ranged from national elections to class attendance requirements to placement of speed bumps around campus. Students also expressed themselves in editorials and cartoons about student life at Harcum College.
The Scrapbook exhibit is another interesting way of looking at Harcum's past. Each of these scrapbooks in this collection was created by a female student at Harcum College between 1938 and 1963. The scrapbooks are an eclectic collection of artifacts, newspaper clippings, photographs and documents related to the creator's personal experience at College.
We would love to collect your photographs and memories of Harcum. Especially if you do not see yourself or your experience represented in the archive. You can dictate how your donation is viewed. You may restrict your documents for a period of time if you would like to keep them private for a while. It is not uncommon for people to contribute documents and restrict access to them for 25-50 years. If you are interested in making a donation please call the library at 610-526-6022 or message us at library@harcum.edu. You may also make fast submissions of electronic documents and photographs through the digital archive at any time. Making a contribution to the Harcum College Archive Collection is a wonderful gift to future generations of Harcum students.
Reference and Special Collections Librarian 610-526-6022 |
